Into autumn

It’s been a mix of sunny and wet days this week.  I’ve been cutting the grass paths around and on the plot. It’s one of my least favourite jobs so I don’t do it very often, and when I do I spread it over several days.

Cabbage & patty pan courgette

Yesterday plot neighbour David kindly gave me a small cabbage and a white patty pan courgette, seen here on a ten inch dinner plate to give some idea of size.

I’m not sure how I’m going to cook them so any suggestions would be welcome.

 

Tomatoes 'Golden Sunrise'

Some of the tomatoes that I picked are now ripening including these yellow Golden Sunrise ones I grow most years.

The windowsill plants only produced a handful of small fruit but I will try again next year.  I’ve been recommended the variety Tiny Tim.

Mahogany nasturtium

 

I came across this mahogany coloured nasturtium yesterday which is a bit different to the more usual orange, red and yellow ones.

 

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Into autumn

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Re the cabbage: boil / steam it, drain, add a knob of butter and a few caraway seeds. Let the butter melt, then serve… Good with German or Eastern European food.

  3. Jo says:

    I love patty pans. If the skin’s a bit tough peel it but otherwise I leave it on. It just wants cubing, popping on a roasting tray and drizzling with oil and then roasting in the oven, about 30-40 minutes. Delicious. Glad to see the tomatoes are ripening, they probably just needed a little extra heat, there’s isn’t much left outdoors now.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Your patty pans will cook like any courgette. The roast suggestion is a good one. I have gently and shallowly fried them in a little olive oil, just as they are, if the outer skin is not tough, (peel if it is). For my suggestion you can also chop and de-seed things as desired.
    Method:
    Chop or slice an onion. Optional extras; add chopped or crushed garlic to cook with onion, & a little finely chopped or grated ginger root place in pan and heat with olive oil.
    Add roughly slice or quarter tomatoes, if you wish, (You can leave them out; see below) slice or quarter a mushroom or three, add herbs and flavourings to suit. Serve up as is, or;
    Now at this point You might like add, say 250-300 mls Passata, (you can use the whole 500mls) let it all simmer for a bit with a lid covering the pan till the sauce starts to thicken. I always add a little red wine at this point the create a fulsome flavour, then let the brew do a bit more simmering back to the thickening point, then, it should be ready to use. Check the flavour while it is cooking.

    This would make a great topping for a spaghetti…. et voila! You have a meal.

    xxx

  5. Marigold Jam says:

    I had a couple of mahogany blooms on my nasturtioums and recently as I sat with my cuppa I watched a bee enter all the yellow and orange ones but when she went to the mahogany ones she decided against those for some reason!

  6. snowbird says:

    I would go with Menhir’s suggestion, that certainly had my mouth watering. I love cabbage boiled, then tossed in butter with salt and pepper. Good luck with the mowing.xxx

  7. CJ says:

    The grass edges at my plot are the bane of my life as well, and I know they need doing at the moment. Luckily, someone mows the paths, but the edges are still quite a trial. Good luck with the patty pans, let us know how they turn out. CJ xx

  8. Caro says:

    I’m with Mark and Dina (Snowbird) on how to cook cabbage. Lovely just finely sliced (I usually take the outer leaves off), steamed (or boiled for 5 minutes), then served with butter. Utterly delicious, goes with just about any meal. I’ve never cooked patty pan squash but I cube butternut after peeling, and let it steam cook as part of a risotto, otherwise it’s really nice cubed, drizzled with oil and some finely chopped sage (or other herbs, even dried from a jar) and roasted until tender.
    I’ve left my tomatoes on the plants for now to make the most of the (very) occasional bouts of sunshine. Slowly, slowly, I’m able to pick a few ripened tomatoes. I’m thinking back to the year when I had freshly picked tomatoes on Christmas Day! (Although admittedly from my balcony, not from the open ground!) Enjoy your weekend and your cooked veg!. Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro that’s what I’ll be doing with the cabbage.You’re lucky with the tomatoes, and as for picking some on Christmas Day…!
      Thanks, I’m sure I will. xx

  9. I find the mahogany coloured nasturtium interesting, I’m going to hunt down some seeds for that…I’m finding the internet to be such an amazing tool for that kind of research.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I like a simple stirfry of sliced cabbage with butter and onion salt. And if you need to omit butter, cook it in a bit of water. The onion salt does wonders. The courgette can join in, too 🙂 How DO you cut the grass? Do you borrow a mower?

  11. My mouth is watering now! Hope you enjoyed your vege gifts, however you decided to eat them in the end. Those yellow tomatoes are really pretty.

  12. Liz says:

    This has almost turned into a cookbook of recipes! Menhir’s recipe for squash sounds delicious. With cabbage, I finely slice it and then sauté in butter or olive oil with a little chopped onion and salt; or I mix it in a bowl with a few chopped green onions, a couple of shredded carrots, add salt, pepper, and sugar and toss with equal parts olive oil and vinegar for a cole slaw.
    Your tomatoes are turning, yeah! (No tomato chutney.)

  13. Chloris says:

    I used to grow patty pan, it is a nice alternative to courgettes. The trouble is I have a glut of courgettes so any more courgette type things wouldn’ t be welcome in the kitchen here. I already get groans from the chef when I bring in ever more courgettes and now after time away- marrows.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris I think that most vegetables growers have the same problem. I don’t grow them any more as I’m not that keen on them and always get offered some by plot neighbours. xx

Leave a Reply

