September plotting

TomatoesInevitably the tomatoes have succumbed to blight so I’ve picked the fruit to hopefully ripen at home.  The red one is an inch diameter so you can see most of them are small.

 

Runner bean seeds

The runner beans are now getting big, long and stringy so I’m shelling the good size beans to dry before storing to cook and eat over the coming weeks.

Lilac & white gladioli

 

This is the last gladioli to flower, a rather lovely lilac and white one.

 

Yesterday was a glorious day so I planted some allium roseum bulbs out on the plot and crocus chryanthus mixed in the long planter.

Robin

 

 

I’m always happy to have a robin keep me company as I have the past few days.  This one is rather camera shy but I did get this one, none too clear, photo.

 

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to September plotting

  1. nikkipolani says:

    My. that robin was very friendly if you could get such a close up shot! There’s nothing like being out in one’s garden on a glorious day, isn’t there? And that lilac color is very pretty indeed.

    • Flighty says:

      I was sorting out containers and it was watching me from the nearby rose bush. As soon as I put this one down it appeared. There sure isn’t. It certainly is. xx

  2. The lilac and white gladioli is so gorgeous, subtle, but beautiful.

  3. CJ says:

    I sorted out most of my tomatoes yesterday as well, it’s that time of year isn’t it. Nice to be planting something for next year though. CJ xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    you are rounding off your plotting year very nicely with the last reasonable croppings, as well as the planting for the growth of the coming months. xxx

  5. Jo says:

    Awww, that’s a lovely photo of the little robin with his head cocked to one side. My resident robin hasn’t returned yet, he usually disappears for the summer and returns in autumn. What a shame about your tomatoes suffering from blight, I’ve been lucky, once again, no sign of it here.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it tends to remain partly hidden and took me by surprise here. I hope that yours reappears soon. The only consolation is that it was a couple of weeks later than usual. Lucky you. xx

  6. Mark Willis says:

    It’s nice to find someone who appreciates the Runner Bean for its beans as well as its pods.

  7. Caro says:

    No blight on my tomatoes yet but very few ripe toms either! I’m reluctant to pick the green ones as they’re ripening slowly. My beans are slowing right down now, probably close to finishing (unless someone has been picking the beans when I’m not there!) I’ve pickled a batch this afternoon so that I have some summer tastes in the weeks to come. Lovely to have a robin for company; I had a little chap keeping me company the other week but my phone/camera was at the other end of the garden. Drat!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I left mine as long as possible. It’s a shame that the runner beans have finished. I’m always pleased when a robin does keep me company. I often leave my camera in the shed. xx

  8. Liz says:

    Where did my reply go? I wrote first thing this morning to adore your friend, the robin; admire the lilac gladiolus; and suggest, if the tomatoes stay green, that you might be inclined to make chutney. Or, perhaps not!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz there’s no sign of it, and it’s something that happens occasionally unfortunately. I’m glad you like my little friend and the gladioli. I’ll see what happens with the tomatoes. xx

  9. solarbeez says:

    Baking soda spray for your tomatoes (to prevent blight)

    Last year my tomato vines were so awful looking, I didn’t want to shoot any photos. Not even before and after shots. I mixed up some baking soda following the recipe on this you-tube video. They started coming around in a couple of weeks. The disease-ridden vines were actually looking stronger and buds started reappear. The leaves started looking fresh and green again.
    Try using it next year. Gary says in April or May. I used it starting in June this year and haven’t seen any blight. My tomatoes have been ripening since late July. Big ones too. Yes, we are happy. 🙂

  10. Julie says:

    Gorgeous little Robin friend you have there.. Luckily no blight here, will be making some tomato chutney to use up the many tomatoes we have. That gladioli is such a pretty colour. Have a good week Flighty :o) xx

  11. Joanne says:

    Lovely little robin you have there for company. Luckily blight hasn’t affected us this year but the tomatoes are near the end. Hope you have a good week x

  12. pianolearner says:

    we have picked the last of our toms too. They are on the windowsill….

  13. Sounds like some good plotting! Hope your toms will ripen well Flighty, I am grateful to have a greenhouse to grow mine in, though I suspect I will be making green tomato chutney come October.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet it certainly was. Me too, and some are starting to change colour. A greenhouse clearly helps, although the lack of sunshine has been the problem this year. xx

  14. snowbird says:

    Your robin is lovely, such friends to gardeners they are! The gladioli is such a pretty tint, how lovely. You remind me that I must plant my bulbs….sighs, where does time go!
    I do hope your toms ripen.xxx

  15. Chloris says:

    I have given up growing tomatoes because of the blight. Interesting to read about solarbeez baking soda remedy. Maybe worth giving it a go next year.

Leave a Reply

