The plot and me

Hydrangea

 

I don’t think that I’ve mentioned the hydrangea this year that I was given last summer. I’m not surprised that it hasn’t flowered and now the leaves are beginning to change colour and die back. Otherwise it seems okay so I’ll leave it be and hopefully it will next year.

 

 

White cosmos

 

 

I was really pleased to see this white cosmos on Thursday as I thought that none were going to appear this year.  I think that it’s possibly a Sonata White rather than Purity as it’s only knee height.

 

 

 

Perennial cornflower

 

 

On Friday I was surprised to see this perennial cornflower (Centaurea montana) as they flower during the spring and I don’t usually get a second flowering like this.

 

 
Oriental poppy foliage

 

After the oriental poppies had finished flowering back in early summer I cut the flower stems off and pruned the foliage right back. This has now grown again to provide some autumn interest.

 

On Wednesday I had to go back to the hospital for  a check-up and a pre-op assessment.   All was okay and I’m now booked in to have my gall bladder removed on Monday 26th October.  They want to keep me in for a couple of days then I will have to take it easy for at least two weeks.  Between now and then I’ve plenty of time, weather permitting, to do all I want to do on the plot before I call it a day for this year.  I’ve made a good start and already got most of the major jobs done including most of the forking over.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The plot and me

  1. elaine says:

    Nice to see things having a second flush of flowering – my roses are having a new lease of life too – I think they like the cooler weather. Good luck with your op – you should feel like a new man once it’s done.😊

  2. it was a funny year for Cosmos…lots of tall varieties flowered fairly squat…cool nights I think…

  3. Liz says:

    Ah, the feel of fall and second blooms. It’s a lovely season. Good for you with your plot clean up. It will be nice to have that done so you can rest post-op, sofa fly, and not have to worry about plotting!

  4. Mark Willis says:

    More evidence that it has been a weird Summer, weather-wise. Some plants are very confused, I think.

  5. menhir1 says:

    Interesting features in this post. I have heard that Hydrangeas may not flower till they are happily settled, rather like Peony Roses, I suppose. I was glad to hear about your Cosmos. I have had, perhaps, two scraggy white flowers with the batch I planted. It makes me feel less concerned about my experience. It is a funny year for flora and fauna.

    Look after yourself, especially, from hereon in. Will you have access to wifi while you are in hospital?

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. I think that you’re right about the hydrangea. Few of my cosmos seeds germinated this year. I agree about it being a funny year.
      I certainly will. I don’t know but not worried if there isn’t. xx

  6. CJ says:

    Cosmos never let you down do they? And will no doubt go on and on until November. The perennial cornflower is lovely, how nice to have a late flowering. Glad all was okay at the hospital. I hope you can get the plot shipshape before the op. Best wishes for it all. CJ xx

  7. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Your cosmos look great, Flighty. I grew Sonata White too this year and I’ve been really pleased with them.

  8. pianolearner says:

    I’m glad the assessment went OK. Good luck with the op. 🙂

  9. It seems you have the priorities in life nicely ordered…I think we are all pretty grateful for such a wonderful year in the garden.

  10. Joanne says:

    I’m glad your hospital appointment went well & you are scheduled to have your op soon. It’s lovely getting a second flush of flowers no matter how unexpected. xx

  11. Jo says:

    It’s always a nice surprise when flowers bloom for a second time, especially at this time of year when other things start winding down. Glad to hear that everything went well at your hospital appointment. At least your op is at a time of year when you don’t need to be doing much on the plot. Hope everything goes well.

  12. wishing you well for your op next month and all goes according to plan. lovely up date, have a blessed day.

  13. I agree, so many people have had disappointments with cosmos this year – maybe the cool overnight temperatures? Hope your op goes well next month, good time of year for gardeners to take a maintenance break.

  14. nikkipolani says:

    My, seems like even your surgery is scheduled in good time for your plot hiatus! Glad the pre-op went well and that you’re enjoying some happy surprises on the plot.

  15. Delightful to see some cheery flowers appearing, best wishes for your operation xx

  16. Glo says:

    It sounds like the plot is getting in good shape for the autumn and winter months. Good to know that you have the gall bladder operation scheduled ~ I add my good wishes for a successful operation and bounce-back recovery!

  17. Glad you have a date for your op Flighty, plenty of time to plan for it too, hope it doesn’t get cancelled on you. I’m wondering whether I should try to get both Cosmos ‘Purity’ and Cosmos Sonata in white, they would complement one another beautifully.

  18. hoehoegrow says:

    My Cosmos have been very patchy too, with about half not reaching their usual height or spread. I would like to try C ‘Cupcake’ next year, as they are supposed to be really good in containers too.
    A little bit of me is really looking forward to putting my feet up at the end of the season!
    Good luck for your op!

    • Flighty says:

      Jane hello, it seems to have been a common problem this year. The variety ‘Cupcake’ looks interesting, and well named.
      I think that we all do, especially once the clocks go back and we head towards winter.
      Thanks. xx

  19. Chloris says:

    Great to get a late summer clear up on your plot so that you will be able to relax and not worry about it. Good luck with the op. A chance for a nice rest and to catch up with your reading.

Leave a Reply

