Tree Following, September 2015 – Liz’s Stewartia

Here in Kentucky we have had a wild ride weather-wise this year with records being broken for snowfall, rainfall and below average temperatures which has resulted in trees having been stressed.

This photo of a couple of the Stewartia leaves was taken on 31st August  and, as you can see, the red colouring is rather lovely.

Liz's Stewartia Sep'15

Most of the leaves now have a brown edging, and I’m wondering if the tree will drop it’s leaves earlier than usual.

See Lucy’s Tree Following post for details of what this is all about, and this one for links to other Tree Following posts for this month.

My thanks to Mike for letting me guest post, and to Lucy for hosting Tree Following.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tree Following, September 2015 – Liz’s Stewartia

  1. Jo says:

    Plants behave in all manner of strange ways when the weather isn’t as it should be. Our cold spring left some of my plants playing catch up all year. I think the stewartia leaves are beginning to look autumnal.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Autumnal weather… We here in So Cal can only dream (it’s still 100F here). But it’s lovely to see the rich colors come through on your stewartia, Liz.

    • Liz says:

      Oh, NikkiPolani, 100F? Ouch. I read and hear about the California heat, fires, and drought. It must be so hard for everyone and particularly if you are trying to keep a garden going.
      Yes, fall is starting to color the stewartia. Liz

  3. Kerry Hand says:

    Interesting thing this tree following.

    • Liz says:

      Kerry, the tree following has made me pay much closer attention to individual specimens and it’s fun reading about others’ chosen trees. Liz

  4. I agree with your observation about the weather. We have had drought, hotter temperatures than normal, and more snowfall then ever before; my ornamentals are showing the stress and I am deeply concerned I will have loses this winter.

    • Liz says:

      Charlie, the change in weather patterns is very disturbing. It looks as though we’ll have to learn to adapt more readily than I usually do. Thanks, Liz

  5. Flighty says:

    The weather everywhere seems to be ever more extreme and unpredictable. The leaf picture is interesting showing, as it does, the stages of change and colours. xx

    • Liz says:

      Mike, I think I told you elsewhere, that the Stewartia leaf had a “painterly” look. Not sure what that means, but I suppose I was thinking of an artist’s palette, or something! And thanks again for hosting my tree. Liz

  6. It’s a very pretty leaf.

Leave a Reply

