Plot pottering

Today it’s nice and sunny so I spent the morning just plot pottering,  picking some vegetables and taking photos.

Cucumbers 'Marketmore'

 

I picked all these cucumbers Marketmore off of one plant which I took to the Horticultural Society trading shed to be sold on the charity stall.  I bought another one home, and there’s still more to come. And I’ve already had a handful off this plant.

 

 

Another small sunflower

 

 

Here’s another small sunflower with the magnificent willow in the background by the site gates that I tree followed last year.

 

 

 

The Flighty’s favourites pot marigolds are still doing well.

A Flighty's favourite pot marigold - 1   A Flighty's favourite pot marigold - 2

So are the nasturtiums.

Yellow nasturtiums

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Plot pottering

  1. Jo says:

    Your Flighty’s Favourites and nasturtiums are lovely cheery flowers. My cucumbers haven’t done a well as in previous years, the Crystal Lemon have been a total washout but I’ve still had plenty off the Mini Munch, the plants themselves haven’t done very well though, they’ve looked as though they’ve been on their last legs all summer. They’ve never really caught up from the cold spring. A charity stall is a great idea.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they sure are. That’s shame. My Mini Munch plant looked like that as well. The charity stall does quite well with flowers, fruit and vegetables all being sold. xx

  2. Liz says:

    Sunny yellow flowers for a sunny late summer day! What a good idea to have a charity stall at the horticultural society shed. I’ve just made a recipe for Chinese smashed cucumbers which was very tasty, but the cucumber was bought! The willow is lovely. Almost time to choose a tree for next year!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz yes indeed. It certainly and does well with plenty being sold. That recipe sounds interesting. The willow is a wonderful tree. I’ll be looking round for one. xx

  3. CJ says:

    Wow, your cucumber is doing well. Marketmore has done well for me in the past but I didn’t grow any this year. Should have done. I like that the excess is sold off for charity. The excess at our plots at the moment seems to consist solely of giant courgettes! Lovely flowers, nice to see them looking so perfect despite all the rain. Wishing you a good week of plotting, I think the weather is set fair for a while now. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m surprised at just how well it’s done. It’s always worth growing one or two. There’s always an excess of courgettes isn’t there. I’m surprised at how good the nasturtiums are looking. Thanks, you too, and yes the forecast is looking much better this week. xx

  4. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Great-looking cucumbers, Flighty!

  5. snowbird says:

    I’m loving all the yellow and gold! What perfectly formed cucumbers.xxx

  6. Well done on your lovely update have a blessed day

  7. Chloris says:

    I am impressed by all your cucumbers, what a harvest. Marigolds and nasturtiums are great value, they bloom all summer. Hoorah for some sunshine at last.

  8. Joanne says:

    Love the charity stall idea, that’s certainly an impressive harvest. Have a happy gardening week xx

  9. menhir1 says:

    Loved the pic of your cucumbers, they brought back pickling memories. They’re the right sort for pickled cucumbers, pickled to ones preference, of course! 🙂
    Your marigolds have taken off… so have mine, (Calendula) at last, as a last gasp. I have used a few in my very few salads, it’s not warm enough here to overdo the cold meals, but some of the home grown leaves have to be used. Aren’t your Nasturtiums summery. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’ve always preferred pickled onions to gherkins. I keep dead-heading the pot marigolds so they keep flowering. Good to see yours have at last. They sure are. xx

  10. Your photos have such a wonderful, joyful feeling…It is the feeling I like most that I get from gardening.

  11. elaine says:

    Marigolds and nasturtiums are such lovely sunny flowers enough to cheer any grey day. What a fine crop of cucumbers mine are having a resurgence but the plants look dried out and yellow – definitely on their way out.

  12. annie_h says:

    Very impressed with your great crop of cucumbers, mine have been dreadful this year. My marigolds are still going strong as well. Sunshine on your plot even on a grey day

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, lots of golden colour to brighten your plot and blog! Your marigolds are producing smaller blooms here in the intense heat, Flighty. But they are surely pressing on! Good to see the sunflower, especially since you’ve had trouble with germination.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki there’s nothing like a bright plot and blog. That’s good to know about the pot marigolds. Yes indeed, and I hope to do better with them next year. xx

  14. Shamini says:

    Your yellow flowers are so cheerful! I’ve grown the same variety of cucumber this year – I didn’t plan to, but was given seeds so thought I would try. Yours look much better!

Leave a Reply

