I’m now wondering

It was a typical Bank Holiday Monday as it rained almost all day. Tuesday morning I’d only been at the plot for a few minutes when it started raining so I quickly picked some borlotti and runner beans before returning home.

Borlotti beans   Runner beans

Thankfully yesterday and today have been better as I’ve done some welcome plotting including pulling up the dwarf French bean plants and forking the area over.  Looking at the sweet corn and tomatoes I’m now wondering if they’ll ripen.

Swet corn   Tomatoes

The areas of ground behind the sweet corn are where the onions and potatoes were grown.

The forecast through the weekend is cool and dry, with night-time temperatures dipping below 10C/50F.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I’m now wondering

  1. Liz says:

    Well done, on your bean harvest! About the corn. Is it the angle/height from which the photo was taken, or are the corn stalks quite short? The tomato photograph makes me think of fried green tomatoes; a yummy Southern US treat. Cannot believe your highs in the 50sF. We have high 80sF and still no rain. Have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it’s been a good year for the climbing beans. It’s the angle as the tallest sweet corn is about five feet. I’ve never tried fried green tomatoes so if these don’t ripen that’s what I may do with them. Daytime temperatures feel around 60F at best in the cool wind.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  2. I hear warmer weather may be on its way … Good news for the sweet corn, mine are far from ripe with still silver tassels and shorter plants than usual too. Borlotti beans are so beautiful, worth growing just for the colourful pods and yours look very healthy.

  3. Awesome news David starts his new job in the morning only been out a week and 3 days come home last Tuesday lunch time

  4. karengimson says:

    I’ve got the same problem with some of my tomatoes. I’m thinking I might just pick them green and bring them in the house to ripen. They might turn red- eventually. I need to clear the poly tunnel out before the cold weather. Lovely bean harvest, by the way.

  5. Joanne says:

    It’s very grey here & with the suspected forecast my sweetcorn or butter nut squash wont produce anything at all. Ah well you win some you lose some It’s nice to have the beans as back up. Take care xx

  6. Great looking beans! I plant tomatoes now and again but didn’t this year. A couple plants did come up voluntarily and one looks like it might actually make some fruit! I won’t count on it though. You can always have some fried green tomatoes if the fruit doesn’t ripen sufficiently! Good gardening.

    • Flighty says:

      Anna I generally do well with the beans. Growing tomatoes outside here is a bit hit and miss. I’ve never tried fried green tomatoes. Thanks, and you too. xx

  7. CJ says:

    The beans are looking good. I’m also wondering if my tomatoes are going to ripen, although I think there is some warmer weather due in a week or so. It’s been so chilly and damp that mine are looking quite sorry for themselves. Your sweetcorn plants look excellent, I do hope you get some cobs before too long. CJ xx

  8. Jo says:

    We had typical bank holiday weather here too on Monday. We decided to stay home and I cooked a roast dinner and my mum and dad came round. There’s still time for your tomatoes to ripen. I have to say that it’s been a brilliant tomato year for me, not sure why as there hasn’t been much sunshine around at all.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it sure was a miserable day weather-wise so I think that you did the right thing. There is indeed. Lucky you, it certainly seems that people have had a very variable year with them. xx

  9. menhir1 says:

    Gardening this year in the British Isles has been a pot luck exercise, courtesy of The Jet Stream, be it a late summer with hot/warm weather, or a lack of summer and crap weather. Anything that has flowered in my neck of the woods, is in my opinion, not just hardy, but foolhardy.
    If you have an Indian summer, it might do your crops some good. Here’s hoping. XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I think that ‘a pot luck exercise’ sums it up rather well, and I think that ‘foolhardy’ should be a new category for plants.
      Today is decidedly cool and damp so any thoughts of an Indian summer seem somewhat forlorn. xx

  10. elaine says:

    I still have loads of tomatoes left to ripen not sure if they will all make it without being brought indoors – the weather has definitely taken a turn for the worse – I was hoping for a bit of sun this weekend but it is raining here this morning and looking grey and miserable.

  11. Caro says:

    I’ve dug up most of my sweet corn as the cobs weren’t filling out at all. Just a couple left now so we’ll wait and see what happens. I think I’ve had about five ripe tomatoes so far this year! It will be a shame if we don’t get some late summer sunshine as this would have been my best year for tomatoes. Still, fingers crossed, it may be getting chillier but there’s hope for a bit more warmth yet.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro How disappointing, and I don’t think that my cobs are any better. I’ve only had a handful of ripe tomatoes as well. How annoying, and disappointing, with the tomatoes. As you say fingers crossed that we get at least a few more. xx

  12. Chloris says:

    Oh Borlotti beans! I love them. They look so pretty as well as tasting good. It’ s still cold today. Is that it now for Summer do you think?

  13. snowbird says:

    Those beans look great, mine all got munched. My greenhouse tomatoes have only just begun to ripen, my veg patch are still green, like you I’m wondering if they’ll ripen. There is a heatwave due next week so hopefully that will move things along a little…xxx

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness, it does seem rather late for your green tomatoes to ripen. Our friends in Cambria have a small plot they’re share-cropping with another farmer. They had some 150 tomato plants and so many are ripening NOW. They harvested some 70lbs to sell at the local markets and restaurant over this past week.

Leave a Reply

