A lazy weekend

Pink cosmos

 

It looks like I won’t be doing any plotting this weekend as there’s been some rain with more forecast. I’ll probably go just for a potter round, and to pick more runner beans.

On Friday I noticed this pink cosmos which is slightly different to the one I showed recently as it doesn’t have a darker ring around the boss of yellow stamens.

 

At home I’ll be re-potting the coleus Fairway plants into bigger pots.

Green coleus 'Fairway'   Red coleus 'Fairway'

Needless to say I’m still looking through the bulb catalogues but I think that I’ll get some red tulips Apeldoorn  and blue alliums caeruleum.

London Rain

 

When I settle down later on with a cup of tea and a few biscuits one of the books that I’ll be reading has the somewhat apt title London Rain.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A lazy weekend

  1. menhir1 says:

    It’s good that you are having a restful pace, while mentally pottering and physically caressing your harvest. Xx

  2. Chloris says:

    It looks as if summer is finished now. Enjoy your book, as a compulsive reader myself, I love hearing what people are reading. I have toyed with the idea of starting a book blog, but it would probably take up too much time.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris let’s hope we get an Indian summer. Thanks, I’m sure I will as I’ve enjoyed all her other books in the series. I have a sort of book blog but it’s been on the shelf for ages gathering dust. xx

  3. Liz says:

    It’s hard to believe that summer is almost over. I too, have an order placed for the allium caeruleum. They look such a pretty blue in the catalogue.
    Interesting premise, a mystery series featuring Josephine Tey. Have you read the five books before London Rain? Enjoy the book with tea and biscuits. I just read an interview Alexander McCall Smith gave to The Guardian on the pleasures and necessity of tea in our lives!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it certainly is. Good for you, let’s hope that they do well for both of us.
      Yes I’ve read, and mostly enjoyed, all the previous books in this series. Thanks, I’m sure I will. I’ll have to find that and have a read. xx

  4. CJ says:

    No allotment visit here either, but at least my lawn seed is germinating nicely in this damp weather. I hope you had a nice potter. I’m envying you your runner beans, mine have been almost non-existent so far this year. I’m also envying you your afternoon with tea, biscuits and a good book – sounds blissful. Wishing you a good week. CJ xx

  5. Jo says:

    We’re forecast rain tomorrow so we’ve been making the most of the dry day today. No allotment visit but we have given Archie a lovely walk and Mick’s cutting the grass whilst I catch up on a bit of blog reading. Those tulips are certainly bright, I think the red varieties look fabulous in spring after the long dull days of winter and the alliums are really pretty. I do like that blue variety, something a bit different from all the lilac varieties out there. Enjoy your book, at least the rain doesn’t stop us reading.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’ s wet here this morning. I agree what you say about red tulips. I’m looking forward to the alliums. Thanks, and I’m grateful that it doesn’t. xx

  6. snowbird says:

    I hope you’ve had a lovely relaxing weekend with lots of reading, and that the re-potting went well. That is a very pretty cosmos.xxx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Sounds like a perfect weekend — lazing and dreaming and reading. Your coleus is looking good! I saw some growing knee-high at the front of a shop. Had no idea they could get so tall.

  8. elaine says:

    The weather has been frightful hasn’t it – but this afternoon the sun came out here and it was nice to wander outside without getting soaking wet.

  9. The cover of the Tey book is delightful. Have you been watching the series ‘Partners in Crime’ on TV? They were very stylish too.

  10. daffy says:

    I remember those plants you have pictured from my school days. We all got some to plant and grow… do they have a velvety leaf? I may be wrong but they did ignite a memory from my youth!

Leave a Reply

