Browsing bulb catalogues

Apart from Tuesday morning, which I spent pruning the hawthorn and dead-heading the rose Pretty Lady, I’ve not been to the plot this week as it’s been mostly dull and wet. Yesterday there was heavy rain for several hours, along with thunder and lightning.

Roses 'Pretty Lady'

I’ve spent some time browsing bulb catalogues, such as Peter Nyssen’s,  as well as looking on-line.  I don’t really have room for more out on the plot but I’ve been looking at tulips to grow in containers, and also alliums which I’ve never grown before. As always the trouble is deciding what to choose as the range of colours and varieties is extensive.

Happy Bank Holiday weekend, which typically looks like being mostly cool and cloudy with some rain!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Browsing bulb catalogues

  1. CJ says:

    Yes, it’s been soaking here as well. I’ve just managed a really quick trip to the plot to pick beans, courgettes and cucumbers. Browsing catalogues is one of the pleasures of a rainy day isn’t it. CJ xx

  2. Liz says:

    Your Pretty Lady rose never fails to give pleasure. I have ordered a few different varieties of allium to plant this fall because the “Purple Sensation” that bloomed in my flower beds this spring were such a delight and appeared when some colour was needed.

  3. Jo says:

    Just look at Pretty Lady, still putting on a good show, she’s done so well this year. I’ve already bought my first pack of tulips, I too am considering what other bulbs to grow this year. You’ve reminded me that I must get some alliums, the ones I had in the garden have all disappeared, I don’t know what’s happened to them.

  4. Caro says:

    I’m finding it very hard to choose more tulips for next year, there’s so many gorgeous flowers to choose from! I’ve always bought the cheap supermarket packs in the past (£5 for 50 bulbs!) but I think I want to be more specific in my choices next year. I hope you’ll let us know what you decide on! I’m finding the weather quite challenging at the moment; whilst I love the soaking that the garden is getting, I’d also like to be making the most of whatever summer we have left!! Let’s hope next week will be a little better for gardening. Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro me too. I usually but from the horticultural society but the choice is limited. I certainly will let you know what I buy. I think that we’re all finding the weather challenging at present, and feel as you do. I do hope so. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, we’re getting bulb catalogs here, too, though I no longer risk browsing. Hope you can make your choices among the plethora of options! Now if only you could share a bit of that cool and cloudy with chance of rain — I’d love some!

  6. It took awhile, but I also now have roses that are blooming into the fall, it is such a good feeling. Your problem with too much choice is most likely one of those good problems…Love the photo you shared, it is gorgeous.

  7. snowbird says:

    Pretty lady certainly lives up to her name! Choosing bulbs is always difficult, we are spoilt for choice, browsing catalogs is always such fun though. We’re having similar weather, four seasons in one day most days!xxx

  8. wellywoman says:

    I do love looking at bulb catalogues. I’m just growing tulips in pots next year. Tulips don’t like my soil – they rot or get eaten by slugs. Pots are ideal and planting them is so much easier. Two of my favourites are ‘Verona’ which has a lovely sweet scent and ‘Ballerina’ which smells of orange jelly. Both last a good month too. Have fun looking through those catalogues. Hoping for a dry weekend for us both. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it’s on a par with looking at seed catalogues isn’t it. Like you I only grow tulips in containers. They sound like two good varieties. Thanks. Fingers crossed. xx

  9. menhir1 says:

    I planted some Allium bulbs about 2 years ago, some showed up this year, of all years! Most leafed a few flowered with yellow heads. The containers expand the potential for plotting on your plot. Lovely picture. xx

  10. elaine says:

    Oh goodness – I haven’t even begun to think of bulbs yet.

  11. Love your beautiful rose ‘Pretty Lady’. We have heavy clay soil, so not so good for alliums and tulips, given that Purple Sensation seems the most reliable and the (limited colours) Emperor series do fairly well for a good few years, as well as what I think was a Macon, called Brown Sugar. Otherwise I tend to enjoy them in pots, they are a great injection of colour and interesting in the off season in our garden and a nice change from narcissi.

  12. Alliums and tulips are on my shopping list too. I’m going to add more Allium Haarlem Superglobe. The tulip choice is trickier as I can’t remember what the existing ones are! I think they might be Shirley.

Leave a Reply

