I’m now beginning

During last week I lifted the remaining onions, which are now all at home drying off before I store them to use through the coming months.  I’ve also roughly forked over the area where I grew them.

I’m still lifting potatoes and was really surprised to find that all those on one Charlotte plant were so badly slugged that I had to bin them. Very strange as all the others were okay, thankfully.  I’ve also roughly forked over about two-thirds of this area as well.

I’m now beginning to think about next year, and I’ve already decided what vegetables I’m going to grow and where.

Pale lemon nasturtium

 

 

After a poor start the nasturtiums have picked up and are now doing a lot better.  I noticed this pale lemon one among the brighter yellow ones.

 

 

 

Raspberry ripple gladioli

 

 

Sadly the white gladioli have just about finished but among a few others that I planted elsewhere is this raspberry ripple one.

 

 

 

I spent most of this morning dead-heading pot marigolds, as well as collecting some seed.

Honey bee on a pot marigold

This coming week looks like being rather unsettled, with plenty of rain, so it doesn’t look like I’ll be doing much plotting.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to I’m now beginning

  1. I just love nasturtiums, the pure yellow is very attractive. When allowed to self seed they come through in such an incredible range of colours, but they have slow to get going this year maybe a wet week will help. Others like to plan ahead as you’re doing, thinking it through is half the battle. I was told the key date to action against the slimy monsters is Valentine’s Day!

    • Flighty says:

      Kate me too, it’s a less familiar colour. Most of mine are self-seeded ones. It certainly helps to plan ahead. As for slugs they’ve not been much of a problem this year and hopefully won’t again next year. xx

  2. Caro says:

    What a shame about your Charlotte potatoes! Slug damage to potatoes is one reason why I prefer to grow them in bags. I usually find that potatoes are blemish free when I need them although they don’t grow very large. Looks like a wet week ahead – let’s hope they’ve got it slightly wrong!

  3. Liz says:

    Incredible to think it is already late August and you are completing your vegetable harvest. The nasturtium, calendula and gladiolus are very pretty. Send the rain over here, we need it badly!

  4. Awesome update thank you for sharing and have a blessed week

  5. CJ says:

    A shame about those potatoes, I hope it’s just a one-off. I love the raspberry ripple gladiolus, really vibrant. It’s always nice to start planning for next year isn’t it. It will always be a fantastic year in my imagination. I have a few ideas already as well. CJ xx

  6. Jo says:

    I remember when I first got my old plot, nearly all my potatoes were slug damaged, that’s why I started growing them in containers rather than the ground. I’m glad it was only the harvest from one tuber which was damaged, it would have been a catastrophe if your whole crop were affected. I always start thinking about next year around this time of year. It means that I can buy some of my seed in the end of season sales at greatly reduced prices. That pale lemon nasturtium is lovely.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I was surprised as the Charlottes aren’t usually damaged by them. Me too, and that was my worry at the time. Well done. That’s a good idea. It sure is. xx

  7. elaine says:

    When you dig up your crops do you leave the land fallow till next year or do some successional sowing?

  8. Anonymous says:

    Those gladioli are so pretty. I’ve decided to grow some next year, thanks to your post. Haven’t the calendulas been beautiful this year. I’m growing some compact edging varieties, which don’t seem to need as much deadheading. I’m going to have a look at my charlotte potatoes tomorrow and decide whether to dig them all up and try to store them.

    • Flighty says:

      Who ever you are hello! Good for you. The pot marigolds have, as always, been prolific. Good luck with your Charlotte potatoes, they do store well especially the bigger ones.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Good thing you got some plotting in! Around here, temps threaten towards triple digits again so we’re just watering by hand and waiting for fall. Sorry about those Charlotte potatoes! Shame they had to be binned.

  10. menhir1 says:

    There’s been loads of slugs and snails around this year. Good that most of your potatoes remained slug free. Nasturtiums being coy is a bit unusual.
    I’ve been looking at the weather forecast for the coming week, it is not at all settled.xxx

  11. Sadly I to already have random thoughts about next spring as I am working in my fall garden, mentally planning for what comes next…I struggle to totally enjoy the moment.

  12. Joanne says:

    Shame about your potatoes I wonder why that plant was affected & not the others. Haven’t checked the forecast for here but it is currently sunny so I shall be getting on with some much needed weeding Have a good week with what ever you will be doing x

  13. snowbird says:

    I’m pleased to hear most of your spuds survived, it has been a good year for the slugs, they have devoured my runner beans and are now munching through my courgettes….sighs…
    That is a lovely nasturtium! It has certainly been a strange summer weather wise.xxx

  14. I love gladioli but they just won’t grow for me. By the time they start coming up the heat does them in. I finally gave up! The yellows and pinks in your garden are lovely.

  15. Carrie says:

    Goodness Flighty, it is sad but you are so right to start thinking about your next season’s planting and next years veg collection. It seems we never had a summer here at all and now it’s so close to being over 😦
    Marigolds always make me think of you x

Leave a Reply

