Tree Following, August 2015 – Liz’s Stewartia

The Stewartia continues to surprise through recent weeks. The fruit has developed a tail, and now looks like a cupcake in a frilly paper wrapper with a blown-out candle on top.

Liz's Stewartia Aug'15 - 1

When the fruits mature they’ll open to reveal five capsules containing seeds. They will split and discharge them which is known as dehisce, a new word for me.

Liz's Stewartia Aug'15 - 2

This information was in a chapter of a 1975 book published by the Arnold Arboretum, Harvard. The fruits of my tree, a pseudocamellia, are distinctive in that they are doubly dormant meaning that they take two years to germinate under normal conditions. This is from Stewartias – Small Trees and Shrubs for all Seasons by Stephen A. Spongberg and Alfred J. Fordham, 1975, ref. Arnoldia the Arnold Arboretum’s quarterly magazine.

And here, for a curtain call,  is my girl Dulcie, under a fringe of Stewartia leaves.

Liz's Stewartia Aug'15 - 3

See Lucy’s Tree Following post for details of what this is all about, and this one for links to other Tree Following posts for this month.

My thanks to Mike for letting me guest post, and to Lucy for hosting Tree Following.

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tree Following, August 2015 – Liz’s Stewartia

  1. snowbird says:

    How fascinating! Such interesting seedheads too….just love your girl!xxx

  2. CJ says:

    Brilliant fruit, I shall look forward to seeing them ripen and split. Such a sweet little doggie as well, that’s a lovely photo.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, I love getting a closer look at the tree’s offerings. That certainly does look just like a cupcake! And always nice to see Dulcie.

  4. Jo says:

    How interesting seeing the fruit develop, I’ve never seen anything like that. Lovely to see Dulcie as ever.
    I’m just catching up on my blog reading and I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been in hospital whilst I’ve been away. Glad to hear that you’re feeling much better now and that there’s some plans in place for your treatment. I think they do gallbladder removal with keyhole surgery now which is much better, such a quicker recovery time.

    • Liz says:

      Jo, thanks. It has been a journey of discovery. Dulcie and I am learning a lot more about the stewartia. Liz
      (I think Mike’s hospitalization was fairly brief, and good to know he’s feeling better.)

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. I’ve got a check-up in a month,and if that’s okay then the op. to remove it hopefully in November. As you say it is keyhole surgery nowadays. xx

  5. Flighty says:

    A most enjoyable, and interesting, post. I like your ‘cupcake’ description of the fruit, and the picture of Dulcie has me smiling. xx

    • Liz says:

      All the cupcake needs is some icing and it’s ready to eat! Dulcie is such a sweet girl. Thanks, Mike, and thanks for hosting mt tree-following. Liz

  6. Hollis says:

    It does look like a cupcake! Fun. Nice to meet your dog friend.

  7. Liz says:

    Hollis, I think it was the “candle” that made me think “cupcake”! Dulcie is a rescue dog, so not sure of her breed, although there may be some Jack Russell in there. Thanks, Liz

Leave a Reply

