Summertime flowers

Yellow and cream pot marigolds

 

Last week I spent one morning mostly dead-heading the pot marigolds (Calendula officinalis) which are still flowering profusely.

 

 

I like these red nasturtiums (Tropaeolum majus).

Red nasturtiums

Creamy-white California poppy

 

 

The California poppies (Eschscholzia californica) have flowered non-stop since late May. I really like the few creamy white ones that have appeared so will grow more next year mixed in with the orange and yellow ones.

 

Love-in-a-mist and poached egg plant flowers

 

 

The love-in-a-mist (Nigella damascena) are still flowering, and as you can see a few more poached egg plant (Limnanthes douglasii) flowers have appeared.

 

 

 

There’s only been a few sunflowers (Helinanthus annuus), mostly like this one.

Sunflower 'Autumn Beauty'

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Summertime flowers

  1. Susie Dixon says:

    Beautiful. You inspire me. Hope you are feeling much better.

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing and hope your feeling better have a blessed week

  3. CJ says:

    Gorgeous flowers, especially that red nasturtium. I hope you have a good week. CJ xx

  4. Caro says:

    Flowers are so uplifting, aren’t they! Lovely blooms – and you didn’t even mention that wonderful white gladioli I can see in the background! I’ve also been deadheading calendula as the flowers die off but I sprinkle the seed around the garden as I go. I’ve already got new seedlings springing up – I’m hoping they might flower into early winter! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro they sure. Thanks, I didn’t as I mentioned and showed them recently. I do that as well. They may well do that if the weather is good through the autumn. xx

  5. Liz says:

    What a lovely assortment of flowers in early August. I like Caro’s idea of taking the seedheads of calendula and broadcasting them all over her garden. I may try that too! Hope you are feeling better.

  6. elaine says:

    Lovely flowers Flighty – so good to have them in your garden attracting all sorts of pollinators.

  7. Chloris says:

    Lovely summer flowers. I grew some orange and cream Californian Poppies this year and amongst them is a lilac one much to my surprise.

  8. snowbird says:

    Deadheading does do the plants the power of good…you have some lovely blooms here, I bet the bees love them! xxx

  9. CountryMum says:

    The summertime flowers at your place are stunning!

  10. nikkipolani says:

    What a nice collection of lovely summer colors! I know you’re not fond of summer, but could you miss these beauties?

  11. Joanne says:

    Happy gardening Mike, your flowers are looking lovely as always x

  12. Doris Potter says:

    Lovely!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

