Me and the plot

Many thanks to everyone who commented on my previous post, they were much appreciated.

I was discharged from hospital on Thursday, and I’m happy to say that I’m feeling good. I’ve got to have a check-up in six weeks and if that’s okay then I will have my gall bladder removed in a few months time, which is an in-and-out same day minor operation.

Mini-munch cucumber and tomatoI went to the plot on Friday morning just to look round, and for some much needed fresh air and sunshine.  Whilst there I chatted with plot neighbours John and Trevor then came home with the first of the mini-munch cucumbers and a tiny red tomato.  [The pound coin is less than 1″/25mm diameter]

I was there again yesterday when I spent a pleasant couple couple of hours just pottering. I lifted some potatoes, onions, beetroot and carrots, and picked the first dwarf French beans and blackberries.

Dwarf French beans 'Stanley'  First blackberries

I was pleased to see the gladioli White Goddess starting to flower.

Gladioli 'White Goddess'

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Me and the plot

  1. Liz says:

    Welcome home! You had a good crop of fruit and veg waiting for you and the White Goddess is lovely. Do I recall correctly that you had a friend who grew gladioli or that the ones you are growing came from her?

  2. Caro says:

    Good to know that you’re back home and feeling better. Nice, also, that you had a bit of dry weather to return to so that you could enjoy being on the plot. Your beans are slightly ahead of mine, but there’s lots of promising growth. Gladioli are such lovely flowers, I really should get some.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks. Yes the good weather has been most welcome. I picked the first few runner beans today. They sure are, and yes you really should. xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    Glad you’re OK, Mike. I had my gall bladder removed a few years ago, via “keyhole surgery”. They kept me in overnight because they were way behind schedule, but it wasn’t too bad otherwise. It won’t stop you gardening for very long!

  4. Glad you are feeling better and got the chance to go potter on your plot x

  5. Glad you’re back home and have a plan of action for med stuff. Hope you can have some fun on the plot in the meantime. Hugs from Liverpool.

  6. Susie Dixon says:

    Pleased you are feeling better, and nothing stops you gardening. Take care, love Susie x

  7. menhir1 says:

    It’s great to see you ‘pottering’ and gently getting into the swing of things again. It is good to get out for some air and while doing so, gaining the benefits of your plotting efforts. Those are nice veggies and soft fruits. The Gladioli looks extraordinarily delicate. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks, it’s good to be pottering and plotting again. A few hours of fresh air, even when there’s not much, if any, sunshine, really do make a difference. I’m well pleased with it all. Yes, they’re lovely looking flowers. xx

  8. Charlotte says:

    So good to hear you’re better. I’m jealous of your cucumber! The cat ate our cue plants before it even had a chance to grow properly!

  9. nikkipolani says:

    What a lovely welcome from the plot!

  10. CJ says:

    Flighty, I’m so pleased you’re home and doing well. Nice to see the plot has been productive while you’ve been away, and that white gladioli is beautiful. Best wishes, CJ xx

  11. elaine says:

    So glad you are feeling better my friend – these episodes in life are sent to try us – happy you’re back to your normal self and enjoying the fruits of your labours.

  12. karengimson says:

    Pleased to see you up and about. I love that gladioli White Goddess. That would be fantastic for my cut flower patch. I’ve never grown gladioli, to be honest. Always thought they looked quite hard work. Thanks, as always for the inspiration. All the best- Karen

    • Flighty says:

      Karen thanks. Me too, it’s a lovely flower. Do try them as there’s little to do once the corms have been planted, apart from staking them if need be. You’re most welcome. xx

  13. Joanne says:

    That is good news x

  14. Chloris says:

    Lovely that you are back home and enjoying such bounty.

  15. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Very glad to see you’re back plotting. Those blackberries look amazing! I don’t have any in the garden but I benefit from a neighbour’s plant that tumbles over the fence.

  16. VP says:

    So sorry to hear your news, but glad that it can be easily fixed so you’ll be pottering away again pretty quickly. It seems your plot was eager to welcome you home! Take care. xxx

  17. snowbird says:

    Ahhh…I am SO pleased to hear that you are well and feeling so much better! And you have tomatoes already….I don’t have even a whiff of a fully formed red one yet…..a marvellous harvest! xxx

Leave a Reply

