The plotting blues

It was cooler at the beginning of last week so I spent a couple of mornings doing some much needed dead-heading, tidying and weeding but I have to say that it was rather half-hearted as I’ve got a touch of the plotting blues at present.

It’s damp and dull this morning, and the overnight rain was much needed although it won’t have really made much difference.  I’m sure that many gardeners will agree that it’s been a difficult growing year so far having been too cool, dry, hot or windy.  It’s not been too wet, and in fact it’s been noticeable just how dry this year has been.  That has meant there’s been no problem with slugs or snails but there’s been plenty of others, including blackfly infestations and poor germination.

Pot marigolds (Calendula officinalis)My plotting blues will soon be gone as there is still lots to come.  I’ll be lifting the first of my favourite Charlotte potatoes, it won’t be too long before I’ll be picking the first blackberries and I’m looking forward to seeing the dahlias and gladioli flowering.

I usually have a look at the site stats for this blog most days and over the past few weeks there have been numerous referrers from one of the comments on this Mumsnet post looking at The Plot Ponds, which I did on 31 march 2011.   I never cease to be surprised, and delighted, that my blog is referred to like this.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to The plotting blues

  1. Mark Willis says:

    I go through periods like this too. Just when your precious crop starts to look good, something spoils it – weather, aphids, pigeons etc – which can be very depressing. Almost all my vegetables are covered with nets now, because without them the crops would be very poor.

  2. karengimson says:

    Blackfly just arrived in my garden too. Everything was doing so well- and they arrived what seems like overnight.. I’m getting busy with an organic spray, and hoping for the best.I’m having a look at Mumsnet now, as I haven’t visited their site before.

  3. Liz says:

    I understand the “plotting blues”. It’s almost the opposite of your situation here, weather-wise. We have hardly had a day in the past month without rain, sometimes torrential, bringing down trees and power lines and causing flooding in places.
    A trip down memory lane with the frogs. (Was Frog Newton a play on the biscuit fig Newton in addition to the allotment name?) Just read the Mumsnet post.
    Here’s to the harvests and blooms soon to come!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’m sure that most gardeners get a touch of it for one reason or another. My sympathies as it’s been like that here some years.
      Sadly I’ve not seen any frogs since then. The name was based just on the site name.
      I certainly hope so. xx

  4. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    I hope lifting those Charlottes helps to lift your plotting blues. And I always enjoy your blog, even though I didn’t find it through Mumsnet 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Matt hello, I’m sure that lifting and eating a few will cheer me up no end. Thanks that’s nice to know, and I’m not surprised you didn’t. Cheers.

  5. CJ says:

    Plotting blues here as well, I look around and nothing is going very well. But as you say, it will pass. How lovely that you’ve had these referrals, a nice surprise! CJ xx

  6. Jo says:

    How lovely that you have some new people looking at your blog, I’m sure your pond post will have inspired those who have looked at it. I’m sorry you’ve got the plotting blues, as you say, there’s plenty still to come. Only today my first Flighty’s Favourite marigold has flowered, they self seed now so no work at all on my part in keeping them going.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it really is, and it’s nice to think that it has. Thanks, and knowing that helps cheer me up. Good to know that you’re pot marigolds are doing well. xx

  7. Joanne says:

    I’m sorry you’ve got the potting blues Mike. I hope when you lift your potatoes your crop will be enough to bring a smile. I must say I’m looking forward to the gladioli & dahlias blooming too. In particular a dried up bag of gladioli corns? I picked up for a £. They are putting on quite a bit of growth. I hope your coming week is as good as can be xx

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne thanks. I’m sure that lifting some will do just that. Good for you, they’re both such lovely flowers. It sounds like you got a bargain. Thanks. xx

  8. Glo says:

    Although you feel the plotting blues
    I’m sure you’ll soon be in the pink
    Because I know you’d rather choose
    A happy thought that makes you think
    Of Flighty’s Favorites’ varied hues…
    And as for ponds found on that link
    It’s really great you have more views
    To bring Frog Newton to the brink
    Of dustbin lids like those you use
    That offer refuge and a drink
    For any creature on the loose…

  9. elaine says:

    I’m having trouble with blackfly too – do you think it’s the warm weather that’s causing it – horrible things – and there are no ladybirds about to combat the infestations. Hope next week is a little better for you.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine my sympathies, and yes it’s certainly the weather causing it. I’ve had plenty of ladybirds but they’ve made little difference sadly. Thanks, I’m sure that it will be. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Well, you may have the blues, but with Glo’s poem, you’re headed for pink — tickled pink, maybe!
    I certainly can understand how the weather can bring frustrations on the plot. July and August are usually just too hot here to do much but hand water container plants and wait for cooler temps to tempt the roses to return. Your pot marigolds sure look like they’re resilient enough for whatever the weather brings.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I am indeed tickled pink with Glo’s delightful poem.
      The weather here is often so changeable that at times I do marvel that we get anything to grow. I’d certainly have problems coping with yours at this time of year. That’s good to know. xx

  11. Lovely update thank you for sharing. Our inherited blackberry bush is in flower. I hope you spring back to not being in the plotting blues with all the other nice things coming up in your plot and at home. Have a blessed week

  12. What a heartfelt post, and a pleasure to have found your website. It’s a hard time of year where we live too, especially for veggies with drought, only to be followed by blight in warm, damp weather. Enjoy the delicious Charlottes.

  13. menhir1 says:

    Your plotting woes are interesting to compare with ours; the conditions are almost diametrically opposed to your description, giving the same feelings and as yet, no real seasonal results. At least slug pellets have kept down their ravages on my slow growing plants. xxx

  14. I think we all get the blues at one point or another during this time of year. Here the heat is just beginning to set in, though luckily later than normal due to the wonderful rains we had in May. Unfortunately those rains did weird things to the garden! Some plants got way too much water so my garden wasn’t, and isn’t, as nice as usual because those plants didn’t bloom normally, etc. It just doesn’t seem to be as much fun at this point of the year. And the heat helps take the fun out of things! I hope your potatoes and berries get you back into the swing of things!

    • Flighty says:

      Anna so it seems. It looks as though many of us have had problematical gardening weather this year wherever we live. Thanks, I hope so too. xx

  15. snowbird says:

    How good to know that your blog is still being viewed, even old posts! I have no idea what those stats are as I have my own website.
    I couldn’t agree more about the weather, far too dry, too hot, too cold too windy….our plants simply can’t cope anymore! Sighs…yes…we all get the blues, here’s to more stable weather and bountiful harvests!xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it sure is, and I’m often surprised when I see that old posts have been viewed.
      It appears that the weather has confused both plants and us. Just a touch, but thankfully we usually get over them quickly. Fingers crossed. xx

  16. snowbird says:

    Just read Glo’s poem…now that has to have you smiling!!!xxx

  17. annie_h says:

    Hi Flighty,
    Yes its definitely been a difficult growing season, even though its been on the whole dry here I’ve still had a slug problem! I’ve also had blackfly but I left them alone and the ladybirds and larvae soon found them thankfully. But my sunflowers are out now so they keep me cheerful on my plot. Enjoy your harvest of potatoes, Annie.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie hello, I hope that you’re well. Dry and a slug problem is not good news. Plenty of ladybirds and larvae here but the blackfly overwhelmed them. Sunflowers are always a welcome sight aren’t they. Thanks, I’m sure I will. Take care. xx

  18. wellywoman says:

    I think it’s the time of year too. I always suffer a bit of a lull at this point in the summer when I realise the garden and plot are what they are and I’ll have to wait until next year to grow those plants I forgot to sow etc. Blackfly here has been dreadful. I’ve been boiling up garlic which works but they’ve been on so many plants that wouldn’t normally be affected. Hopefully your plotting blues are lifting. Have a lovely weekend. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I’m sure it is. These are good points as to why we do suffer. It looks like blackfly have been the biggest problem this year. They have I’m happy to say.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  19. Chloris says:

    I know what you mean, the beginning of July is always the same for me. But you have great potatoes and carrots. Have you got plagues of pollen beetles in London?

Leave a Reply

