Nasturtiums and sunflowers

The nasturtiums that are scattered around the plot are now starting to flower but I’ve a lot less plants than last year.  Here are orange and red ones.

Orange nasturtium  Red nasturtiumThere aren’t as many sunflowers as I had hoped for either, and the tall singles are anything but with the tallest being below waist height with correspondingly small, palm sized, flower heads as seen here on the left.  The other one  is an Autumn Beauty which is taller, about 4/5 feet, with a dinner plate sized flower.

Tall single sunflower  First sunflower 'Autumn Beauty'

Neither types have really germinated or grown well due to the cool, dry and dull weather that we’ve had for much of the year.

There was some rain during Friday night, along with a lot of thunder and lightning, but I’ve not been to the plot since to see how everything is doing. Thankfully next week looks like being cooler, around 20C (70F) at best, which suits me as I should be able to do some now much needed plotting.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Nasturtiums and sunflowers

  1. Liz says:

    There may not be as many plants or flowers this year, but the ones you have are certainly colorful! Glad to see the forecast is a mild, tolerable 70 degrees F. Hope for sunshine too!

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed afternoon

  3. Jo says:

    I think I got to my nasturtiums in time last year before they set seed as I don’t have a single one. I don’t mind, they’re flowers which I really like but I’d rather have none than have hundreds like I did a few years ago when I didn’t deadhead them the year before. I shall definitely grow them again next year though. I sowed some dwarf sunflowers and some tall ones but only the dwarf ones have made it through to flowering. The storm we had overnight on Friday woke me up and left 3000 houses from a nearby town (Wetherby, I think I remember you saying you’ve been) without power the following day. We’ve just had another thunder storm but it’s passed by now and the sun is shining again.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I don’t mind pulling up any self-seeded ones that I don’t want. Rather that than not having any. I’m thinking of trying dwarf sunflowers next year. The overnight storm certainly was impressive. It was just a mostly dull day here yesterday. xx

  4. elaine says:

    I had loads of nasturtiums last year but they don’t seem to have seeded themselves much for this year which is unusual and I have to say I am a little disappointed – although last year they practically took over and I had to be ruthless with them.

  5. snowbird says:

    My sunflowers haven’t any flowers yet, nor my nasturtiums, yours are looking lovely, especially the sunflowers.xxx

  6. CJ says:

    I have some very short sunflowers as well, but I’m quite liking them like that, they’re a bit easier to see. I’ve never tried nasturtiums, I worry about never being able to get rid of them! Wishing you a good week. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’d really like a mix of heights from below the knees to above the head. Go on try nasturtiums, and don’t worry. Thanks, and you too. xx

  7. Glo says:

    Nice to see some blossoming nasturtiums, even if you don’t have as many as usual. I rescued some of my nasturtium plants from being nibbled at but so far each plant just has two leaves sticking out like frogs feet. 😉 It’s such crazy weather, it’s a wonder anything has grown at all. Here we still have no rain, and there are wildfires starting up, many due to lightning. Very worrisome.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo they’re always good to see. It’s much the same here, with very little rain but thankfully no wildfires. I’m sure it is. Take care. xx

  8. Shamini says:

    How exciting, and what fabulous, sunny colours. I’m growing Autumn Beauty too – I hope it flowers as well as yours!

  9. nikkipolani says:

    I’m surprised the heat wave hasn’t wakened your sunflowers. But perhaps they will have a nice growth spurt later in the season. Hurray for the surviving nasturtiums!

  10. menhir1 says:

    The flower heads you have look chipper, Mr F. I wonder if the sunflowers maybe stronger while they are shorter. I stopped growing Nasturtiums in NW London because of all the aphids etc they attracted. Then, I spent a couple of years weeding out the re-growths. Here, where I live now,the aphid issue has never been a problem, however, I have left the growing of Nasturtiums to other people. 😉

    xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. I stake all the sunflowers regardless of size as they are prone to wind damage on my exposed plot. My nasturtiums are usually aphid free, and they do usually self-seed rather freely. xx

  11. Joanne says:

    I haven’t any nasturtiums this year, my sunflowers have been dire! I cheated & bought a pot from the garden centre. Lovely photos x

  12. Chloris says:

    My sunflowers aren’ t out yet, yours are real beauties. Nasturtiums are so lovely and easy and give such a burst of bright colour.

Leave a Reply

