Over the past week…

or so I’ve seen two less common birds on neighbouring plots. One was a Moorhen which had strayed onto the site from the adjacent Newton Farm Ecology Park pond where they live.  The other was a Mistle thrush which I’ve seen a couple of times.

Small Tortoishell butterfly on the blue lavenderComma butterfly on the blackberry bush

 

On the plot I’ve seen a Small Tortoiseshell butterfly on the blue lavender, whilst on the blackberry bush was a Comma.

Pink-rose love-in-a-mist

 

Among the familiar blue and white love-in-a-mist (Nigella damescena) flowers I spotted this pink-rose one.  I rarely see any mention, or see pictures, of this colour.  Both pink and rose are listed as colours for the popular variety Persian Jewels Mixed, and is available as other varieties including the interesting looking Chiltern Seeds best seller Mulberry Rose.

 

Creamy-white California poppy

 

 

A couple more of the cool creamy-white California poppies (Eschscholzia californica) have appeared among the bright orange and yellow ones.  I really like these so will be growing more next year.

 

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Over the past week…

  1. Debs says:

    I’ve had two different pink coloured Nigella pop up in the garden. : D I must try to find some of those poppy seeds. What a lovely plant.

    • Flighty says:

      Debs hello, and lucky you. Chiltern Seeds list the white poppy varieties ‘Alba’ and a pure white one ‘Ivory Castle’. It sure is. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I love the creamy white poppy, that’s such a pretty colour. Allotment sites are a great place for wildlife spotting, there’s often things visiting which don’t venture in to the nearby gardens. We have long tailed tits at our site yet I’ve never once seen one in my garden.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo me too, not surprisingly. They sure are. Lucky you, they are seen on my site but at the other end by the trees so I rarely see them. xx

  3. awesome post Flighty love the photos have a blessed afternoon

  4. nikkipolani says:

    How nice to have some unusual appearances of wildlife and blooms! That creamy poppy is very pretty — are these reseeded from past years?
    I had a dream last night that I came to visit and stayed at your flat (which was very large with a vast upstairs!). We were working through a difficult cookbook and deciding when to visit the plot. It was spring and there were still patches of snow on the ground.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it certainly makes a welcome change to the more usual sightings. I bought and sowed these white ones this year, which hopefully will reseed for next year.
      What a wonderful dream although the flat is small with no upstairs, you must have bought the cookbook with you and it has been known to snow in the spring. xx

  5. It sounds like you had a good week in the garden, both with plants and wildlife! The white poppies are quite pretty, as are the butterflies. We get Commas around here but I have yet to see one this year — the Question Marks were quite abundant though! I wonder if there’s an exclamation point or a period butterfly? Great post and thanks for sharing your plot!

    • Flighty says:

      Anna given as it’s been so warm here,and I’ve only been there for an hour or so in the mornings to water, I’ve still had a good week. Commas are one of the less common ones that I see.
      Thanks, and you’re most welcome. xx

  6. snowbird says:

    It’s always good to see less common wildlife, I am fond of the mistle thrush, I see a lot of them here, cheerfully smashing snails on rocks! Good to see your butterflies, I haven’t seen many this year which is rather worrying….
    The creamy white poppy is lovely.xxx

  7. Chloris says:

    I love the pink Nigella. I wonder if it will come true from seed. Don’ t forget to save some. Great butterfly shots.

  8. Liz says:

    Unusual flower colors and rare wildlife sightings. The pale yellow California poppy is pretty as is the pink nigella. I bet you wish Nikkipolani’s dream of snow on the ground in London in spring would translate to cooler temperatures in July of 2015. Just read that yesterday was the hottest on record. Bring on the rain!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz such sightings are always welcome. I agree that they both are. I do indeed, and as you say Wednesday was the hottest July day on record. Yesterday’s forecast rain never materialised and there’s none due now until next Tuesday. xx

  9. CJ says:

    What a gorgeous poppy. And lucky you seeing a moorhen at the site, and how lovely to have an ecology park next door, brilliant. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. I wondered what it was when I first saw it. I sometimes walk through the ecology park as I can then get onto the allotments from the other end. xx

  10. elaine says:

    You are lucky to have spotted some butterflies they seem to be few and far between this year.

  11. Carrie says:

    It’s so fabulous! All colour and full of life. I saw a few all black looking butterflies yesterday – no photo, I have a phobia of them (weird eh?). xxx Love your Nigella.

Leave a Reply

