This year’s Flighty’s favourites,

the pot marigolds (calendula officinalis),  are doing really well both on the plot and elsewhere with friends both here in the UK and as far away as New Zealand and the USA.

Orange, yellow and 'biscuit' pot marigolds

 

I’ve been taking lots of pictures to see just how many variations there are of the the basic orange, yellow and buff (or biscuit as I call it) colours. Hopefully I will put together a montage of them to show here later in the the year.

 

 

I rather like the the two-tone ones.

Orange and yellow two-tone pot marigoldsI’ve found one or two that are creamy-white or pale pink.

Creamy-white pot marigold   Pale pink pot marigoldLater in the week the temperature looks like being over 30C (around 90F) at times. That’s way too hot for me so all I’ll be doing is pottering and watering for an hour early morning. Hot orange pot marigoldStay cool, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to This year’s Flighty’s favourites,

  1. Caro says:

    Aha, so it’s not just me that sends seeds abroad then! (I’ve been helping people out with Achocha seeds.) How lovely to think that your Flighty Favourites are being enjoyed internationally! I rather like the pink and biscuit coloured ones with their air of faded splendour. Hope it doesn’t get as hot as is forecast, I really don’t like things too hot! How I ever survived living in the tropics as a child is a mystery! (Probably all the swimming helped. )

    • Flighty says:

      Caro Indeed not! (Good for you). It is indeed. I do too, but keep changing my mind. I hope not as even today is too warm. I think that it’s different when we’re young. xx

  2. menhir1 says:

    Darn! i commented and the system wanted a new password.
    Anyone who wants to stay cool should book a stay in the far north of Scotland. The heavy rain this morning has given way to wind and overcast skies.
    Your calendulas are bouyant, Mr F. Are any of them edible? xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir Oh dear I hope that wasn’t a problem. I do hope that your weather improves soon.
      Thanks, they are all edible, not that I’ve ever tried them. xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    The Flighty’s Favourites I sowed last year were mostly plain ones, but this year I have a lovely mix of colours. I have none of the original seeds left now, so I shall be saving my own from this point onwards. Thank you for the original gift – one which keeps on giving, year after year!

    • Flighty says:

      Mark they seem to change over the years. Like you I’ll be collecting seed. You’re welcome, it’s nice to know they’ve been appreciated. Cheers.

  4. Liz says:

    My “Flighty’s Favourites” are all singles this year, mostly yellow, and pretty. I look forward to collecting the seeds and seeing how they morph into bi-colors and doubles like yours.
    Oh those 90 F degree days. We had a lot of them in May. This week we’re not supposed to go above mid 70s, which is how I like it. But that is unseasonably cool for July in the US upper South.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it’s good to see how they grown, and it’ll be interesting to see them next year.
      Mid 70’s is warm enough for me so I hope that the hot days are short-lived. xx

  5. Jo says:

    I think my favourite is the lemony two tone one in your second photo. I’m really not very good with very hot weather so I shall be doing the same as you and finding things to do indoors where it’s cooler.

  6. CJ says:

    I love the biscuit ones as well. I’m not sure any of our plants will appreciate a heatwave though. CJ xx

  7. Very nice flowers in very nice colors!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Those biscuitty colored ones are my favorites, too, Flighty. But the gold and yellow ones have been just prolific this year in my garden.

    90F?!? Where’d that come from? The last few days here have been a bit muggy in addition to mid 90s. Perfect time to be inside with the air conditioning and a book 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki good for you. it’s nice to know that they’re doing well there.
      All the way from southern Europe! I don’t blame you if if it’s been that hot and humid. xx

  9. awesome and all very nice indeed have a blessed day

  10. Glo says:

    Lovely to see Flighty’s Favorites 🙂 Mine are few and far between this year as it is so hot and dry. Yours are gorgeous! I planted the cosmos and it started growing…I was so excited. I noticed some of them seemed to be nibbled, so I quickly erected a netting and enclosed them. Somehow, the next day they were all gone 😦 Now, there is one green leafed plant, not sure what it is, but it seems it may have escaped, so I will be tending it carefully.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks. That’s a shame about your pot marigolds, I’ll have to send you some more seed. My cosmos haven’t fared much better, so it looks like we’ll have to try again next year. xx

  11. VP says:

    I was admiring the National Collection of Calendula exhibit at Hampton Court yesterday. It’s in Bristol and scattered across the city as it’s being run as a community project. It was fascinating to talk to the project’s co-ordinators 🙂

  12. snowbird says:

    Oh…how lovely! They are all gorgeous! I still have your marigolds self sowing in the garden! xxx

  13. Alison says:

    The orange marigold (my favourite) is still flowering in winter. I do love all the varieties and plannng to plant a whole lot of them in spring now that I have more seeds. Stay cool next week and happy gardening. x

  14. annie_h says:

    Yes I really like the simpler two-tone ones. I’ve still got some self seeded ones from your original seeds flowering at my allotment

Leave a Reply

