Tree Following, June 2015 – A fig tree

A couple of months ago the fig tree had plenty of immature fruit showing and plot neighbour Trevor, who’s tree it is, said that he was hopeful it would be a good year.

The leaning fig tree

Unfortunately since then nearly all the fruit has dropped off the tree due, he thinks, to the cool and windy weather during May.  This was the only fig that I could see when I took these pictures last week.

A fig

What was also noticeable was the now impressive size of the leaves, this one being bigger than my hand, as well as the colour and shape.

Fig tree leaf

See Lucy’s Tree Following post for what this is all about, and this one for links to other Tree Following posts for this month.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tree Following, June 2015 – A fig tree

  1. lovely post have a blessed day

  2. Jo says:

    Such a shame. The weather’s got a lot to answer for this year. My next door neighbours have a large fig tree in their garden and I can see lots of figs on it, I shall be watching to see if they ripen.

  3. Liz says:

    Well, there is one good fig and the leaf is handsome and glossy. There is a fig tree in one corner of the herb garden where I have volunteered for 20 years and I have yet to see a single fruit on it. Do figs need to be in pairs to cross-pollinate?

  4. Hollis says:

    Oohh … sorry to hear about the figs (being such a fan of fresh figs). Beautiful leaves, wow!

  5. nikkipolani says:

    A shame about Trevor’s figs! You mentioned immature fruit (dis)appearing, any chance of fruit developing later?

  6. snowbird says:

    Sighs….what a pity to lose all those figs! I don’t have any on mine at all, I think I need to move it to a sunnier spot. May was a dreadful month garden wise for sure!xxx

  7. menhir1 says:

    Nice fig leaf, nice tree, nice fruit, shame about the climate. xx

  8. CJ says:

    I’m finding fruit quite fickle at the moment – no pears or plums this year, and not many grapes, raspberries or blueberries last year. I was just thinking about planting a fig on the allotment today, so it’s funny you should post this now. I know you’re supposed to confine the roots to stop them getting too big. And we’re only allowed trees under 7′ tall at our site. But it would be lovely to have more figs. I shall ponder it. And of course I would have to find a space… CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ as I see from reading your post earlier. I sympathise. How about keeping it in a large container in you do, that would certainly restrict the growth. xx

  9. Felix says:

    What a pity that the tree got rid of the immature figs. I hope you will have a good harvest from the second generation. – That is an advantage of fig trees, really, they can bear fruit multiple times a year. Good luck!

    • Flighty says:

      Felix hello, and thanks for your comment. May here was really cool and windy which we think caused it to shed them. That’s good to know. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

