All the way to Z

When I commenced the Plot A to Z occasional series back in October 2010 with the post Starting with A I never envisaged that it would take to now to reach Z. This final post is in two parts as I’ve divided it into T and U to Z.

Tomatoes 'Gardener's Delight'T is notable for one of the best tasting vegetables that I grow, namely tomatoes. Despite the ever present problem of blight I think that they’re worth growing simply to enjoy picking and eating a juicy, sun-warmed one and savouring the taste.   I generally only grow half a dozen plants which always include the ever popular variety Gardener’s Delight.

 

Yellow tulip

 

Tulips are lovely flowers but I don’t grow them every year, which I always regret when I don’t.  I grow them in containers where they generally do well.

One problem that I always have is choosing what varieties of tulips to grow. I’ve grown red and yellow ones in the past but not white ones.

 

Moving on to U to Z there is really nothing that I grow on the plot starting with these letters, although I have grown courgettes in the past which are also known as zucchini. I’ve not grown zinnias but may well try some next year as they are, apparently, an easy sow-and-forget flower and I like the look of the variety Polar Bear.

This series has been fun to do, and I must especially thank Glo (Porcelain Rose)  for kindly doing a wonderful award for each of the previous posts.

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

Edited Tuesday 2nd June to include this much appreciated Tuvwxyz award from Glo!

Tuvwxyz Award

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to All the way to Z

  1. CJ says:

    Home grown tomatoes are wonderful aren’t they. I grow them every year, even though I’ve had some complete disasters – that wet year three years ago was terrible, I barely had one. I know what you mean about tulips, I grew some one year and they were delightful, I always wish I’d grown them every spring. Well done on getting all the way through to Z! CJ xx

  2. Liz says:

    Congratulations on A to Z! Tomatoes are the only vegetable (fruit?) I make an effort to grow every year. Have never heard of Gardener’s Delight; that variety must not have made it to the US yet. I have some species tulips that return every year, otherwise it’s hit or miss. Zinnias are very easy direct sown and make good cut flowers. I was directed to grow zizia aurea this year in a butterfly garden. It’s part of the carrot family, also known as golden Alexander and attracts the woodland swallowtail here.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks. Good for you. They’re probably the most popular variety here. Tulips in the ground can be a bit hit or miss which is why I grow them in containers. That’s good to know about zinnias. You’ll have to let me know how your zizia aurea does. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    Z for zucchini is absolutely okay. What did you have for X/ Y? I must have missed those. That was quite some task you took on there, alphabetical gardening. There must be a book in there somewhere Mr F.

    The tomatoes and tulips are a delight.

    XX

  4. Jo says:

    I think tomatoes are my favourite things to grow, though I don’t grow them on the plot, they’re always grown in the garden and in the greenhouse. There’s so many different varieties that it’s always fun trying something new, though I do have my favourites and Gardener’s Delight is one. That’s a beautiful yellow tulip, I do like that.

  5. elaine says:

    If I could grow only one thing it would be tomatoes – you have done well to complete your A to Z – now you can relax.

  6. snowbird says:

    Congratulations on getting right through the alphabet! Gardener’s Delight are a wonderful tomato, so reliable, I always grow those too…..I couldn’t imagine not having home grown tomatoes…..xxx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Hurray! Yes, the Polar Bear variety of zinnias are fun to grow. I had one that was a light green — a bit odd, but the other colors are very nice. And may your tomatoes do better this year.

  8. Glo says:

    Hello there! Those tomatoes look delicious! And to complete your A-Z awards, here is your TUVWXYZ Award. And what is a Tuvwxyz you ask?

  9. Joanne says:

    Congrats on your A-Z. I don’t like tomatoes but always grow some for Mike. The cherry ones don’t reach the kitchen as he eats them straight off the bush in the garden. x

Leave a Reply

