Another May medley

Red valerianThe red valerian (centranthus ruber) that I replanted into the stone feature seems to be doing well as it now has a handful of stems in addition to the main, about to flower, one.

The wonderful looking love-in-a-mist (nigella damascena) flowers are starting to appear.

Blue and white love-in-a-mist

Secend lot of broad beans 'Karmazyn'

 

The first lot of knee high broad beans Karmazyn now have lots of flowers on them.  The second lot are, as you can see, noticeably less nibbled, and I’m going to sow a third lot during June.

 

Blackberry flowerThis morning I was surprised to see this big, and early, blackberry flower, and standing by the raspberries I could see numerous bees buzzing,  including several bumble bees, and plenty of ladybirds.

Ladybird on the raspberries

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Another May medley

  1. menhir1 says:

    There’s no need to ask ‘How does your garden grow’ we can see. The red Valerian is very happy in its throne room, it is lovely plant. You are going to have some early soft fruits.

    Outdoor plantlings here are having to work very hard to achieve growth, your plants really are so much further on than ours, unless they are living in greenhouses, being protected by cold frames, or being nurtured in conservatories.

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it’s doing well. I’m pleased with the valerian. It sure looks like it.
      It’s been slow going through May so hopefully the season will continue well into the autumn. xx

  2. There is nothing as special as the elegance of May…Love the photo series.

  3. CJ says:

    It’s all looking good Flighty. I have a handful of flowers on my tayberry as well, and a few bees buzzing about the place. I do need more flowers though, I haven’t done very well this year for flowers. I have a few seedlings to grow on though, so hopefully things will improve. CJ xx

  4. Chloris says:

    My broad beans are in flower too. I can hardly contain my excitement. I love your new header. Have a good weekend.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    A nice update on the blog happenings, Flighty.

  6. Jo says:

    I’ve never grown valerian but I do like it. Love in a mist is such a pretty flower, it’s one which I’ve grown in the past but has been missing from my garden for the last few years. I haven’t seen many ladybirds lately, there were lots about when we had the warm spell in April but they seem to have gone missing since, obviously gone south.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo a plot neighbour, Fran, give it to me. That’s surprising as love-in-a-mist usually freely self-seeds. I’ve only been seeing the ladybirds during the past week or so. xx

  7. elaine says:

    Good to see everything starting to flower – it will soon be a blaze of colour – and good that the flowers are already attracting insects.

  8. snowbird says:

    All our beans seem to be coming along nicely! I love that stone square and love-in-the-mist is such a gentle elegant flower, I forgot to sow any this year, I shall just have to enjoy yours!xxx

Leave a Reply

