Coming up next

It rained most of Monday and Tuesday was an all-seasons day with some hail, intermittent sunshine, heavy showers and high winds.

A robinYesterday a robin kept me company but this was the only photo that I managed to take of it. Today a flock of very raucous starlings were on the site.

With hopefully better weather coming I’ll be sowing the first dwarf French beans Stanley, climbing French beans Barlotto Lingua di Fuoco, runner beans St George and sweetcorn SevilleF1.

Growing among the poached egg plants (limnanthes douglasii) is love-in-a-mist (nigella damascena) which is just about to start flowering, and the dogwood is looking interesting.

Love-in-a-mist buds  Dogwood flower buds

The Californian poppies (eschscholzia californica) continue to delightful with their bright orange and yellow silk-like flowers.

Orange  & yellow California poppies

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Coming up next

  1. Lovely post thank you for sharing

  2. Mark Willis says:

    I’m well ahead with the beans – most of mine are planted-out already. The “Lingua di Fuoco” ones were a complete washout though (old seeds!)

  3. Jo says:

    I haven’t sown any of my beans yet either, I’m growing the same runner beans as you. After saying that my Californian poppies were missing from the garden, I’ve noticed a small plant complete with buds. I’m not sure if it’s a Californian poppy or a Welsh poppy though, I think I’ll be able to tell once the flowers open.

  4. CJ says:

    Oh yes, let’s hope there’s better weather coming. I planted out some borlotti beans the other day, and some climbing French beans today. I’m hoping they do okay, some of the earlier stuff I put out hasn’t faired at all well. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      Cj fingers, and toes crossed, that it is. Good for, and I’m sure that they’ll do well. I’m not surprised as May hasn’t been a good month at all. xx

  5. Liz says:

    Love your nigella popping up amid the poached egg flowers. What kind of dogwood is that? I remember my mother visiting me in the US and returning to England determined to buy a dogwood, but she couldn’t find (or knew to ask for) the cornus Florida that was blooming here. But that was years ago. The California poppies are so lovely.

  6. Joanne says:

    The weather has been glorious here today I hope you get some nice weather soon for all your sowing, busy times ahead x

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Oooh, I do like that view of the nigella getting ready to bloom. Lovely lovely. Hope you continue sharing pictures of the dogwood. It’s much too warm here for them, but I love their elegant flower displays.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they look like jewels in the foliage. I must try to do a montage of the dogwood through the year. That’s a shame, as it looks lovely in flower. xx

  8. elaine says:

    I have just planted out some Cosse de Violette – a purple climbing bean – unfortunately they didn’t like being taken out of the greenhouse and are sulking – they don’t seem as robust as your average runner bean – fingers crossed they pick up after they have settled down.

  9. menhir1 says:

    A triumphant fiery finale to this post! Have a good one! xx

  10. snowbird says:

    The poppies are so vibrant, I love them! Some of my dogwoods are flowering too….
    I sowed some runners in the greenhouse and veggie patch, I’m surprised how quickly they have come up. Here’s to some decent bank holiday weekend weather!xxx

Leave a Reply

