A May medley

What blossom there is on the hawthorn tree is mostly hidden from view by the glossy green leaves.

Hawthorn blossom

The California poppies (Eschscholzia californica) are providing a real hot-spot on the plot.

California poppy

The crows seem to be making frequent use of the dustbin lid pond for drinking and dunking stale bread.

Crow drinking from the pond

And the honey bees are all over the poached egg plant (limnanthes douglasii) flowers.

Honey bee on a poached egg plant flower

It’s overcast and raining today so I’m staying at home, and this afternoon will be sofa flying with a good book, a cup of tea and a couple of biscuits.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A May medley

  1. lovely update thank you for sharing

  2. Charlotte says:

    The plot’s looking lovely, Flighty. Have a great weekend!

  3. Caro says:

    It’s lovely to see these sunny moments especially as today is rather gloomy! I think I’m going to venture out into the drizzle and sow a few seeds in situ – high time my California poppies were started off! – and hopefully the rain will get them off to a good start. Have a good weekend, Flighty! Caro x

  4. Jo says:

    I had self sown California poppies in the garden but there aren’t any this year, I wonder where they’ve gone. They’re such lovely plants. Lovely to see the hawthorn blossom. I walk past a hawthorn hedge when I take Archie for a walk, it wasn’t long ago that it was devoid of leaves, now it’s thick with them and it’s blossoming too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’ve had that happen in past years which is why I generally sow some as well. They sure are. Hawthorn hedges in blossom really look good don’t they. xx

  5. Liz says:

    Lovely May pictures; the California poppy is so vibrant. I saw a programme on TV recently about the intelligence of crows — apparently as smart as a seven-year old! Cuppa, digestive, and a good book sound just right about now. . .

  6. CJ says:

    Gorgeous hawthorn blossom, one of my favourites. Good to see the wildlife and wildlife attracting plants and pond at full throttle. Rain here all day too, an afternoon on the sofa with a good book sounds like a wonderful idea, enjoy! CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ mine too. I’m always happy to see wildlife on the plot. It was a miserable day, but good for gardens and plots. I did enjoy thanks. xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    It’s all coming together isn’t it. Crows are clever. xx

  8. elaine says:

    There is so much to see at this time of year. I am jealous because my Eschscholzia are nowhere near as far forward as yours are. It’s raining cats and dogs here today but I made up for it in the garden yesterday which was glorious – no two days the same eh!

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine yes there’s something new almost every day. I’ve been surprised at how early these ones have been. It’s been the same here, and thankfully nice again today. Indeed not. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    That hawthorn blossom is lovely, so dainty looking. That pond of yours serves many a critter for sure! I smelt my poached egg plants yesterday and was surprised by how fragrant they are!xxx

  10. Lovely. I like the poppies. I have some that grew from seeds I threw out last fall. They’re rather tall and spindly, though!

  11. Helen says:

    Beautiful, so much further forward than here, just north of Glasgow.

  12. Joanne says:

    I hope you had a lovely afternoon, hawthorn blossom is just coming out here now. I enjoy the scent of it as I walk Rocky x

  13. nikkipolani says:

    While up the coast this weekend, I saw lots and lots of those bright poppies (it’s a bit too dry down here to see many). All your blossoms look happy in the spring weather. What book did you read?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I sowed some white ones a few weeks back, along with more orange and yellow ones. Shame that they don’t do well where you are. They sure do. I ended up browsing some gardening books rather than a novel. xx

      • nikkipolani says:

        Poppies can do well here, and do, but our hills are pretty brown just now. With the dry heat that frequently blows through, poppies go from pretty fronds with bright flowers to grey leggy scrubby and slightly weedy looking rather quickly. So I tend not to grow them in my garden.

Leave a Reply

