So far it’s all looking good

There were a couple of very windy days during last week with some heavy rain at times. Thankfully all was okay when I checked the following day.  Looking round this morning I was pleased to see that so far it’s all looking good, with even the row of carrots having appeared at long last. This is a view looking west across the flower patch, the lavenders and perennial cornflowers, then over the path to the strawberries and the potatoes. Another plot view The California poppies (Eschscholzia californica) and poached egg plants (Limnanthes douglasii) have started to flower.

California poppies (1)   Poached egg plant flowers (1)

Red ValerianI was given this plant last year which I think is red valerian (Centranthus ruber) which bees and butterflies like. I really must find a home for it out on the plot.

The gladioli have just started to appear, as has the dahlia I planted in the square container.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to So far it’s all looking good

  1. CJ says:

    It’s a very good time of year isn’t it. Everything at your plot is looking lovely, and it’s very neat and under control as well. CJ xx

  2. menhir1 says:

    Good pictures. I would love to see [almost] aerial photos of your plot to fully appreciate your layout.

    Will the Valerian plant be happy fully exposed to the vagaries of London weather, which, I know can be about 10 degrees higher than that of the far north of the U.K in the summer and early autumn? Xx

  3. Liz says:

    Your plot is indeed looking good! I agree with Menhir that an aerial picture would be a bonus. When I look at my own weed-filled flower beds, I admit to a little envy!

  4. Jo says:

    It’s all looking very good. It’s so lovely and tidy and though it’s nice to see the veggies putting in an appearance, it’s good to see the flowers doing their thing too.

  5. Yes, that’s definitely red valerian, nice plant that requires no effort at all (which is why I still have some, lol). Bees and butterflies do like it!

  6. Your plot is looking so lush and healthy…You are going to have such a good year.

  7. Chloris says:

    Thank goodness that awful wind has died down, it was driving me nuts. Your plot looks so well tended with everything growing so healthily. It looks as if you are going to have a bumper strawberry crop.

  8. It’s all looking wonderfully neat and productive Flighty, though I had to smile at your Valerian in its pot, I spend a lot of time weeding it out of my front garden, as although it is a lovely plant, it self-seeds all over the place! I’d always want at least one good sized clump though.

  9. Awesome and looking good lovely update have a blessed week

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I hope you reeeeeally like valerian. It will self-seed into a sizable jungle if you let it. I planted two of them (two!) and have been trying to eradicate them from random locations all across the front garden. And that’s the less common alba variety. Your plot with its neat rows is looking splendid, though. Must be a happy sight to see each time you’re there.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I do but will bear what you, and others have said about it. Thanks, the neat rows make any watering and weeding much easier. Yes, it sure does. xx

  11. snowbird says:

    It’s lovely to see your plot so well tended! I do love the perennial cornflowers and poached egg plants. My carrots are only just beginning to come up too, they certainly have taken their time this year! xxx

  12. elaine says:

    The plot is looking so spick and span not a weed to be seen anywhere. My cornflowers are blooming their socks off like yours but not the California poppies – I think we have it a little colder up here but if it warms up this week they will be romping away.

  13. Very, very nice. Everything looks green and inviting!

Leave a Reply

