Carrots, cosmos and…

creating a Sky Garden.

I like carrots but they’re a vegetable that I never have much luck in growing.  This year I’m trying the short, stumpy variety Caracas . Earlier this month I sowed a row, between two rows of onions in a bid to deter carrot fly, but they’ve yet to germinate and appear.   I’ll be sowing a second row in June.

Regular readers will know that cosmos are one of my favourite flowers, especially the white variety Purity.  Earlier in the year I noticed that there is a variety Yellow Garden which didn’t seem to be available in the UK.  I then found that a recently introduced variety Xanthos, which means yellow in Greek, is so I ordered a packet from Crocus.  On receipt I noticed that the seed count stated 30 but I found 42 in the packet I received.  I sowed some at home and most of them germinated and appeared within a week.  As well as planting these out when big enough to do so I’ll also sow some direct to see how they do.

Key ring and mini plaqueLike me Karen at Sunny Day Photography lives in a flat but whereas I live on the ground floor she lives way up high where she has a small balcony and recently started creating a Sky Garden. I sent her some seeds to try including pot marigolds Flighty’s Favourites.  As a thank you she kindly sent me an allotmenteer’s keyring and a small gardening plaque, both of which are much appreciated. Do have a read of her most enjoyable and informative post, and the pictures in the Gallery are well worth looking at as well.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Carrots, cosmos and…

  1. snowbird says:

    My carrots are really slow germinating this year, normally they would be up by now but are only just beginning to germinate. I hope yours do well this year!
    The yellow cosmos sound lovely, I’ll look forward to seeing them! I do like your keyring and plaque.xxx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Those Xanthos cosmos look rather sunny — at least the photos of the ones I found online. I have the ones sometimes called ‘sulfur’ cosmos, a more goldenrod yellow. These are quite good reseeders.

    And more of your marigolds are blooming just now. Even a few of the more double tawny colored ones. Good luck to you with Caracas.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’ll be interesting to see what shade they are. I prefer cosmos bipinnatus to sulphureus which does have yellow varieties.
      That’s good to know. Thanks. xx

  3. Jo says:

    I’ve never had much success with carrots. This year I’m going to try them in the new WoodBlocX raised bed. I’ve got some enviromesh at the ready to deter the carrot root fly, I’m hoping that this will do the trick. It’s funny, I’ve always imagined you living above ground level in your flat, I don’t know why. What lovely gifts you received from Karen. I’ve still got some Flighty’s Favourites seeds and shall be sowing them very soon. I love cosmos, I look forward to seeing how your new variety does. I love Purity but I have a thing for yellow flowers too so I look forward to seeing them blooming away.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think that you’ll do well with this year. I’m glad that I live on the ground floor as I don’t like heights and I don’t have to walk up and down the stairs. They sure are. Good for you. It’s a popular flower, especially Purity. It’ll be interesting to see how these yellow ones do. xx

  4. I have grown ornamentals for years…I have a P-Patch (an allotment) this year and I’m making my first attempt at vegetable gardening. I am now paying much more attention to your comments on what works for you and what doesn’t seem to work as well.

  5. Caro says:

    What with your sunflowers and your poached egg plants, your allotment will be a picture of sunshine when these cosmos flower! Carrots do take ages to grow, I think the key is to have lots of patience! I only grow them so the little ones can see them coming out of the ground, and didn’t bother at all with them last year. I’m thinking of putting a few in this year just for fun.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it will indeed. I’m generally patient but there are limits. I think that there always worth trying, even if you don’t have much luck. xx

  6. Shamini says:

    Yellow cosmos – what a fantastic find! I hope they perform well for you.

  7. Liz says:

    Carrots! Love ’em, but have never attempted to grow them. My Flighty pot marigolds are up. We’re expecting frost tonight, so I’ll wait a few days to sow cosmos. What a cute plaque! I read Karen’s post; she’s really getting into sky gardening in a big way.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I also like them and keep attempting to grow them! There’re been a couple of nights here close to zero. It sure is. I always admire people Karen who have a go at gardening in difficult or usual locations. xx

  8. CJ says:

    Love the allotment keyring, I shall go over to her blog and have a look at the sky garden. It sounds like a lovely idea, and no carrot fly! Carrots are tricky devils aren’t they. My usual method is to sow two or three entire packets of seeds and then when nothing comes up I put something else there instead. I did notice a few seedlings today though. I live in hope. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ me too. Thanks, I’m sure that you’ll enjoy reading it. It’s good to know that others, like yourself, also have problems growing carrots. And me! xx

  9. elaine says:

    My cosmos have germinated well they will soon need pricking out. p.s. do you remember my comment on your last post when I said I had seen a plain gold coloured bee – I have found out today that it was a bee fly which is a bee mimic a parasite that feeds on bee and wasp larvae. You learn something new every day!

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine let’s hope that they do well for us this year. I’ve never seen a bee-fly, they’re very distinctive aren’t they. We do indeed! xx

  10. Thanks for the link. It was an interesting post! Enjoy your Cosmos.

  11. Chloris says:

    Last year I grew some carrots in big pots and they did far better than the ones in the ground. I will look out for the yellow Cosmos, it sounds intriguing.

  12. menhir1 says:

    I see you are a scientist at heart. 🙂 xx

  13. Hello Flighty, I am late sowing my cosmos ‘Purity’, but it is one of my favourites too. As for carrots, I was toying with trying some this year but when we decided to start the business that had to be put on the back burner. Now I am just eyeing the ground where I sowed broad beans and peas and hoping to see shoots soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’ve not sown mine direct yet. I think that it’s worth trying some carrots in a container . I think that we all do that after we’ve sown seeds. xx

Leave a Reply

