Last and first

Last potato and onionI had to buy some potatoes yesterday for the first time since early last summer as I’ve just one large Desiree left.  That along with the largest of the dozen onions that I’ve also got left are shown here on a ten inch dinner plate to give you some idea of their size.

First rhubarbYesterday I also picked the first few rhubarb stems, which were about a foot long and finger thick.  For anyone who’s having problems if theirs is flowering have a look at Caro’s interesting post that she did on Friday.

Inside a red tulipI don’t grow tulips every year but when I do it’s in containers so I’m not sure how a couple of red ones have appeared out on the plot among the daffodils. I always find the inside of these flowers rather fascinating.

Honey bees drinking from the dustbin lid pondI’ve been enjoying watching various wildlife recently.  They included four mallard ducks formation flying very low over the allotments, one of the largest bumble bees I think that I’ve ever seen, a pair of crows sky dancing for several minutes and honey bees drinking from the dustbin lid pond.   The white bits you can see in the pond are bread crumbs from stale bread that crows have dunked to soften.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Last and first

  1. You have certainly made those potatoes last well Flighty, mine were gone by Christmas sadly.

  2. menhir1 says:

    You have benefitted from a good cropping system. We are still able to enjoy kale planted lasted autumn. Your rhubarb looks as if it will be very tender.

    A nice array of pics xx

  3. Liz says:

    The last potato and onion are huge! The post on flowering rhubarb was interesting. I had a rhubarb flower for the first time last year and thought the bloom was some exotic creature–the flowers are magnificent, but don’t help the edible stalks, of course! The rhubarb custard cake sounds good too. We have had bumble bees, mallards, and crows around too. Signs of spring!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz they are the exception with just a few of each being as big as that. Rhubarb flowering seems to have become must more common in recent years.
      Good to see that you’ve seen plenty of wildlife as well. They sure are. xx

  4. Alison says:

    What huge potato and onion! I think my onions are about the same size too. As big as my palm. That tulip looks amazing! I still have not purchased or planted any daffodil/tulip bulbs. Hope I’m able too before autumn ends. Happy gardening! x

    • Flighty says:

      Alison these were the biggest last year. Well done, big onions do generally keep better and longer. You’ve still got a month or so to get, and plant, some daffodils and/or tulips.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. I’ve used two lots of my rhubarb so far to make puddings, Flighty. I’ve been earthing up my potatoes I’m growing in containers. So far the only seeds which are growing in my greenhouse are tomato plants. I love the idea of your pond being used by crows. Have a great week, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula and lots more to come I’m sure. Well done. I’ve got some tomatoes growing on the window sill. It’s fascinating to watch the crows. Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. CJ says:

    Lovely to see the dustbin lid pond being used by different wildlife. Maybe the tulips were stolen by a squirrel and buried on your plot. I hope you enjoy the rhubarb, I picked three little stems of it on Friday as well. Wishing you a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. I think that I mixed up the bulbs when I dug most of them up and replanted them rather than the squirrels, which is a nice idea. Thanks, the rhubarb has been most enjoyable. Thanks, and you too. xx

  7. Jo says:

    You’ve done well having potatoes last this long. I’ve still got onions left from last year, we don’t use that many so they usually last well. I haven’t picked any rhubarb yet, will you have a pie, crumble or as it is?

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I certainly have. I generally only use a couple of onions a week which is why they last.
      I usually just stew the rhubarb but very occasionally make a crumble. xx

  8. pianolearner says:

    I made the first rhubarb crumble of the year yesterday. Very tasty….

  9. elaine says:

    My rhubarb isn’t quite big enough to pick yet – but in a couple of weeks a crumble is definitely on the menu. The crows do the same thing in the bird bath they pick up bread then dunk it – they are so clever aren’t they. I have seen some bees this week that I have never seen before just plain gold – not even sure that they were bees – I’ll have to look them up. Hope the chill winds die down and it gets a bit warmer – have a good week my friend.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine it’s well worth the wait isn’t it. Yes crows really are clever birds. Gold bees sound interesting, I hope that you identify them. Me too, but it looks like we’ve got to wait a few days yet. Thanks, and you too. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I can appreciate your wondering how that tulip wandered in — I’ve been seeing freesias and Iceberg rose starts and even alstroemerias where I didn’t plant them. Enjoy your rhubarb — looks like a nice harvest to start the season.

  11. snowbird says:

    Its fascinating how plants just pop up in unexpected places isn’t it…always a pleasant surprise to see nature doing it’s thing. Gosh, your potatoes have lasted well, marvelous! Good to hear how much wildlife you are attracting!xxx

  12. Charlotte says:

    Hello, Mike! I’m just catching up on blogs and good thing that I did as I discovered my rhubarb is flowering too! Now I know what to do thanks to your link. I still picked a few stalks though and have just made myself a most excellent crumble with them 🙂

Leave a Reply

