Sunshine and a smile

It’s been another good week with plenty of sunshine, and it’s also been unseasonably warm the past couple of days.

On the plot I’ve been sowing flower and vegetable seeds, including a short row each of  beetroot Ruby Queen and lettuce Mixed.

Yesterday there were lots of ladybirds on the blackthorn, which is now losing it’s blossom and starting to show leaves.

Ladybird on the blackthorn

Sunflowers, tall single

 

A week ago at home I sowed various seeds including these six sunflowers Tall Single which appeared in a couple of days, and are now at least 2″ high with the second set of leaves just visible.

In complete contrast the coleus Fairway are minute green pinheads.

Watering can bookmarkBack in February I sent Liz, who does her guest Tree Following posts here, some flower seeds including pot marigolds Flighty’s Favourites. As a thank you she kindly sent me a card along with this watering can bookmark which made me smile.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunshine and a smile

  1. Lovely post all 12 of my sunflowers have fired have a blessed day

  2. Jo says:

    I love your new header, which variety are they? It seems everywhere except Leeds has been having sunshine this week, it’s been rather dull here and not as warm as it was last week. The ladybirds, butterflies and bees seem to have been out and about earlier this year than I’ve noticed them the last few years, I hope the ladybirds will do their job of keeping the aphids at bay. Cute bookmark.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they’re narcissus ‘Petrel’, a double headed variety. Shame that your weather hasn’t been too good. Yes they all seem very active over the past couple of weeks. Me too. isn’t it just. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    Busy insects, busy growth, leaps of it with your sunflowers! the bookmark is a great smile provoker. I am still grinning. xxx

  4. and a good weekend to you too Flighty, PS I wonder if anybody is unhappy in there gardening be interesting to know

    • Flighty says:

      David thanks. I think that we all have down times what with adverse weather, pests and so on but generally gardeners always seem to be optimistic. Cheers.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Cute bookmark 🙂 And it’s always nice to see ladybugs around. We have seen very few this year.

  6. Chloris says:

    The weather is wonderful at the moment, we are so lucky. Is that Narcissus Thalia on your header? It is such a beauty.

  7. CJ says:

    The weather’s been glorious hasn’t it. You’ve reminded me I need to sow some beetroot. Lovely to see the blackthorn blossom and ladybirds, the wildlife is loving the warm sunshine isn’t it. CJ xx

  8. Liz says:

    CJ and I seem to be on the same wavelength. The picture of the blackthorn in bloom and the ladybird is lovely.
    It’s been on/off rain all week and then the sun came out this afternoon. Everything, including the weeds are going like gangbusters. Even the butterfly weed (Asclepias tuberosa) that I direct sowed into my back garden last fall seem to be making an appearance. We can hope!
    The watering can bookmark seems happy to have a good home!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz that’s nice to know. I don’t unsettled weather like that.
      It’s the same here, with everything growing like topsy. Fingers crossed.
      I’ve been using the bookmark in one of my regularly referred to gardening books. xx

  9. Snowbird says:

    Love your card and glad to hear you have had some sunshine….it’s been fairly bleak here. My sunflower seeds have popped up within a few days too. It’s good to start sowing, and so exciting waiting for the first seedlings.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. That’s a shame, but I hope that you get lots of sunshine on holiday. They’re really quick to germinate. It sure is, on both counts. xx

  10. elaine says:

    We have had sunny days but with cold winds so I haven’t been out in the garden much – I’m not bothering with sunflowers this year as last year they were a disaster – good luck with yours.

Leave a Reply

