On the plot every day…

Apart from yesterday which was cool, wet and windy I was on the plot every day last week.  As always when I get there I have a look round to see that it’s all okay then top up the two ponds. One morning I gave the shed, pallet patio and compost bin a coat of Woodland Green wood preserver. Potato foliage appearingSince planting out the first early potatoes and onion sets and sowing some broad beans nearly three weeks ago I’d also been looking for signs of growth last week but to no avail up to Friday.

This morning however it was a different story, much to my relief, with potato foliage ( as shown), onions and broad beans just appearing.

I started sowing flower seeds today including sweet peas, pot marigolds and love-in-a-mist.  With the week ahead looking dry and warm I’ll be sowing lots more including sunflowers, nasturtiums and California poppies.  I’ll also be planting the dahlias and gladioli.

The white narcissi Petrel are now flowering – Narcissi 'Toto' Peacock butterflyI was just about to leave this morning when this Peacock butterfly fluttered past me and settled on the ground by the path edge.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to On the plot every day…

  1. menhir1 says:

    What a contented flow of gardening, maintenance and production you depict in this post. It looks as if nature is responding in kind. xx

  2. elaine says:

    Sounds like a very productive week.

  3. Liz says:

    You’ve done a lot of work this week, and it’s paying off!

  4. Caro says:

    Oh what a treat! I’ve never seen peacock butterflies around the gardens here. Do you direct sow your flower seeds, Flighty? I’m tempted to do so as space is at a premium but I don’t have direct access to water in the garden. Your plot will soon be very colourful!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it’s the second one I’ve seen on the plot in a week, which is more than I’ve seen in the past couple of years! I sow all my flower seeds direct as suitable window sill space at home is limited, so used for cucumbers and tomatoes. I certainly hope so! xx

  5. Awesome update Flighty thanks for sharing have a blessed week

  6. Chloris says:

    What a wonderful week it has been. It is so satisfying to be able to get on. I have seen several Peacocks and lots of Brimstones. I love the little Narcissus Petrel.

  7. CJ says:

    It’s been wonderful hasn’t it, long may it last. Those white narcissi are gorgeous. Wishing you a good week too Flighty. CJ xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Mmmmm. That white narcissi shot is just dreamy!

  9. snowbird says:

    Now that sounds like a perfect week to me! How good to see the first potatoes rearing their heads! The petrel and peacock are equally adorable!!!xxx

  10. Jo says:

    It’s great when we get a run of good weather so we can catch up with some jobs. It turned horrible here over the weekend, rain and high winds, but the sun is back again today, hooray! There seems to be lots of butterflies around this year, quite different to last year when I hardly saw any until summer really got underway. A Peacock butterfly even landed on Archie the other day. Glad to see the potatoes have started in to growth and those narcissi are beautiful.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it certainly is, especially at this time of year. Pity that yesterday was so miserable. I agree as I’ve seen lots already, let’s hope we continue to see them. It’s a relief to see the potato foliage appear, and I agree about the narcissi. xx

  11. pianolearner says:

    Those Petrel are very pretty!

  12. Joanne says:

    I haven’t got my potatoes in yet, I really must get round to it & I haven’t made a start on painting the fences. It sounds like you’ve been busy x

  13. Sounds like you were really “chilling out”! Lovely little butterfly.

  14. Carrie says:

    so much going on – it’s a fabulous time of year on the plots xx

  15. Tracy says:

    Sounds like a good week. I’d be grateful for some cold and wet weather, it’s still quite summery here, 31degC today which is too hot for autumn if you ask me.

    • Flighty says:

      Tracy hello, and welcome. It would be nice if every week was as good. I don’t like it above the low 20’s C, especially when it’s humid. The other problem here in London is that the air quality is often poor when it’s hot. I’ve bookmarked your blog to enjoy looking at over the next few days. xx

Leave a Reply

