Sunday solitude

I know that it’s Easter Sunday but I was slightly surprised to find that I was the only person on the allotments this morning, especially given the time of year and that it was quite reasonable weather.

Stone featureI really just pottered doing some hoeing and weeding. I also removed the Rose Campion (Lychnis coronaria) from the stone feature as it was looking very ragged. I’m now pondering what to grow in it’s place.

Over wintered California PoppiesI was pleased to see that a few of the annual California Poppies (Eschscholzia californica) have over wintered and are showing signs of new growth. I’ll be sowing more later this month including the variety Alba which has creamy-white flowers.

The narcissi Toto that I planted in a container are starting to flower while the other, all-white, variety Petrel are still furled up.

Narcissi Toto

The highlight of my morning was seeing a blue tit fly onto and then, all too quickly,  off the dog rose.  It’s been a long time since I last saw one of these delightful, always busy, little birds on the plot.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday solitude

  1. Caro says:

    I was also relishing a quiet morning in the garden today, Flighty! It was mostly just clearing, tidying, weeding and deadheading the primulas while I plan the patch for this year. There’s lots of stuff growing here as well, including a peony that I thought was a dud bare root planted last year and calendula and cerinthe (seeds scattered last autumn). I could really do with a week of weather like this, dry and mild – as ever there’s plenty to be getting on with in the garden! Hope you have a good week, Caro xx

  2. Liz says:

    We went below freezing early this morning, but now the sun is shining and it should be a pleasant day. There is so much weeding to do! I am waiting for post-frost forecasts to sow my Flighty’s Favourites pot marigolds!
    Carrot cake in the oven. I send you a slice via email! Happy day and week

    • Flighty says:

      Liz sunny days often mean cold nights at this time of year. There always is, I’m sorry to say! Good for you.
      That sounds nice. I wish! Thanks, and you. xx

  3. CJ says:

    Like Caro says, we need much more of this dry and mild weather. Glad you had a nice morning at the plot, the narcissi are looking lovely. CJ xx

  4. Susie Dixon says:

    I saw a blue tit on my bird table this morning. I haven’t seen one for a few years. This novice gardener is getting excited about the plants peeping through and the gardening days that lie ahead.

    • Flighty says:

      Susie they’re always good to see as they are such lovely little birds. Good for you, I don’t think that excitement ever diminishes. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Growing and cultivating happens throughout the year, it is a vital part of life. It is good that you were able to commune peacefully with nature and enjoy the good Easter weather. xxx

  6. Mark Willis says:

    If you want to see Blue Tits, come round to my place! They are always in and out of my garden, along with Long-Tailed Tits, Great Tits, and Coal Tits. I expect you quite enjoyed having the plot to yourself, didn’t you? Time for communing with Nature etc! It was peaceful here too, with none of the usual commercial traffic.

    • Flighty says:

      Mark Lucky you. If I had a plot near the fence and trees, rather than out in the middle then I would see more. I did indeed. Peace and quiet is always welcome, and savoured.

  7. The birds have been busy where I live too. Gathering nesting material etc. Have you seen any greenfinches because they used too be a visitor to my garden but not anymore. No sign of any of my seeds growing yet, but plenty of daffs & tulips on show in my garden. Have a great day.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula it’s always good to see them doing that. I rarely see greenfinches, and sadly there has been a decline in numbers recently due to trichromonosis, a parasite-induced disease which prevents them from feeding properly. With warmer weather on the way your seeds should start to germinate and grow. Thanks, and you too. xx

  8. Sounds blissfully peaceful, but I’m surprised more people weren’t up there given the time of year, it was always really busy on Easter weekend at our old allotment, to the extent that I preferred to stay away! Look forward to seeing what you plant in your stone container.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I make the most of it before people start mowing and rotavating! I don’t blame you, but thankfully I’m rarely there when it is really busy. Thanks. xx

  9. Jo says:

    My allotment site was deserted later on in the day yesterday, it was such a lovely day too I thought the place would be busy. I’m still waiting for my Thalias to bloom, though they’ve budded up so it’s just a matter of time now. I’ve got blue tits making a nest in the box I recently put up. It’s right next to the window so it’s lovely to watch them coming and going with their beaks full of nesting material.

  10. snowbird says:

    I would have expected more people to be plotting over the holiday. Good to hear you have blue tits, we have lots of them here, they are busy, fluttery wee things.
    I’m surprised your poppies over-wintered, that’s a bonus! I think a red dogwood would look good in your stone feature.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird me too, I was surprised at how few I saw. They are lovely little birds aren’t they.
      So was I, but pleased that they did. Thanks for that rather good suggestion. xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    A quiet Sunday morning in good weather is a beautiful thing. Roomie and I enjoyed our walk to/from church and the cool breezes after a week of high 80s. Glad you had a feathered friend visit whilst you were at the plot. Those daffs look delightful.

  12. Joanne says:

    I’m glad you had a good morning on the plot & hope this good weather is continuing for you. The sunshine makes all the difference doesn’t it x

Leave a Reply

