It looks like being…

a rather typical Easter weather-wise with rain tomorrow then dry, dull and slightly warmer. Thankfully the wind, which was gusting at over 40+ miles per hour for much of Tuesday has abated. When I looked round the allotments yesterday I was relieved to see that my plot was okay, and surprised to that see all the daffodils were still upright. Taller daffodilsI’ve not done much this week apart from planting out the Kestrel second early potatoes. Looking round it’s pleasing to see all the new growth such as the comfrey and raspberries. Comfry reappearing  New raspberry leavesSadly the recent wet and windy weather has meant that much of the blossom to be seen out and about has already gone but during the week I noticed this eye-catching pink and white flowering skimmia japonica. Pink and white flowering skimmiaHappy gardening and have a good Easter weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It looks like being…

  1. A lovely update, thank you for sharing Flighty.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Daffodils do seem to have an amazing capacity to survive even the worst weather! We had constant gales from Sunday until early this morning. I was glad I had securely staked my PSB.

  3. CJ says:

    Lovely skimmia, and I’m glad there wasn’t too much damage at your allotment site. I’ve yet to check mine, but everything usually holds together pretty well. I hope you have a good Easter Flighty. CJ xx

  4. Happy Easter, Flighty x

  5. Liz says:

    Those daffodils are amazing and resilient! It’s nice to see the signs of spring poking through the soil, for which I guess, the rain should get some credit! Happy Easter.

  6. snowbird says:

    I’m so glad your daffs are still standing, it’s so frustrating when the wind beats plants down. That is a lovely skimmia japonica….mine are just beginning to open. Have a lovely Easter.xxx

  7. Jo says:

    I’ve got a few flattened daffodils in my garden but the majority have withstood the wind. That skimmia japonica is a beauty, so pretty. Happy Easter.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Now there’s a cheery image for the start of Easter weekend! Glad your daffs survived and you’re seeing wonderful new starts for spring. And thank you for that lovely Easter greeting!

  9. Chloris says:

    These awful storms seem to have been all over the country. So glad that it is calm now. You inspired me to get my potatoes in. I am glad I did it before we had all that rain.

  10. Carrie says:

    Big love and hugs xx

  11. It seems to be a little warmer here, I was out weeding without a coat at 5pm yesterday, in the shade. I still haven’t managed to get my potatoes in thanks to a mess up with my compost order. Ah well, they will just be a little later! Hope you have a lovely Easter weekend.

Leave a Reply

