Scented and sumptuous summer delights…

such as strawberries, sweet peas, sweet corn and sunflowers herald the letter S in today’s post in the occasional Plot A to Z series.

First strawberriesSummer really begins with strawberries, which are many peoples favourite soft fruit.  I prefer raspberries, but have to say that a few sliced up and added to any bland breakfast cereal certainly gets the day off to a good start.

Sweet peasSweet peas are surely a must grow flower for any garden or plot thanks to their wide range of colours (all except yellow) and, more important, heavenly scent.  They are one of the few flowers that I grow to cut and bring home where, even with with my poor sense of smell, I can enjoy their scent.

The last sweet corn cobOf all the edibles that I grow on the plot I think that sweet corn is the one that I really look forward to picking and eating. There really is nothing better than enjoying a cooked cob smothered in butter and sprinkled with black pepper.

Sunflower 'Giant Single'Sunflowers with their sunshine faces are such smiley flowers.  There is a bewildering choice of varieties of varying colours. There are tall ones and knee-high ones,  some with large single flowers and others with numerous flower heads. They are, not surprisingly,  another of my favourites so grow some every year.

Flighty's 'sentry box' shed

 

Lastly I mustn’t forget my small, sentry-box shed which is rather different to the more usual ones found on allotments.

I’m sitting here writing this on a dreary, wet spring Sunday morning dreaming of such scented and sumptuous summer delights.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

Edited Tuesday, 7th April to thank Glo (Porcelain Rose) for this Flighty’s Scent-sational Award for this post…

Flighty's Scent-sational Award

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Scented and sumptuous summer delights…

  1. That’s a great posting Flighty! So looking forward to the warmer weather when everything is truly alive and buzzing. Sweet peas are the best. Many years ago in my first garden I grew them, but since never had the same success maybe I should try again. 🙂 Have a great week.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula that’s kind of you to say. I think that we all are! I generally don’t do very well with sweet peas but hoping I’ll do better this year. Thanks, and you. xx

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Same here – wet and very windy today, so no gardening. Lots of blogging though! Dreaming about Summer now that BST is here.

  3. Can’t wait for some sunshine! I’ve got sweet peas in the greenhouse, looking forward to planting them out. Must try sunflowers again, didn’t have much success last year.

  4. Jo says:

    Strawberries, sweet peas, sweet corn and sunflowers, I love them all. My sweet peas were sown a couple of weeks ago and I got my sunflowers under way just yesterday. It sounds like we’ve got similar weather today, it’s very blustery here too, definitely not plotting weather.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think these are probably grown by most people. Me too. Good for you. I generally sow my sweet peas and sunflowers direct but starting some of the latter off at home this year. It sure looks like we did. xx

  5. Caro says:

    I prefer raspberries too, especially as the slugs seem to get to the strawberries before me! I’ve been going through my photo archives this weekend and planning where to plant stuff this year. Sunflowers, sweet corn and sweet peas are definitely on my list! I’m really looking forward to it!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro good for you, and that’s a shame. I think I’ve sorted out what’s going where. I’d guess that there on nearly everybody’s list. Well done, me too.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Raspberries here seem so very slight in flavor that I rarely purchase them. Glad you can grow them there and enjoy them. Ah, sweet peas. They are certainly a must if you like scented blooms. Hope all of these do well for you this season.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that’s a real shame. Me too seeing that they’re my favourite soft fruit. I don’t think that a vase of sweet peas can be equalled. Thanks, I hope so too. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    Oh I love sweet corn too, but you missed out the salt, you have to have salt! Yes, you can’t beat sweet peas and sunflowers, both are a must.xxx

  8. Julie says:

    Apart from sweetcorn I’m growing them all. Love tasting that first fresh ripe strawberry, warm from the sun. Mmmmmm my mouth is watering thinking it about it :o) Been horrible here today.. cold strong winds, rain and hail.. now warm sunshine, if you’d just make an appearance again.. pretty please :o) xx

  9. CJ says:

    Ah yes, gorgeous tastes and flowers of summer. I’m really looking forward to them. CJ xx

  10. Chloris says:

    Sunshine, strawberries and sweet peas, now those are lovely images to cheer up a wet and windy day.

  11. I totally agree about corn on the cob. It’s not good unless you have enough butter that it dribbles down your chin!

  12. menhir1 says:

    What delightful photos, all the subjects are perky and luscious. xx

  13. Glo says:

    Just caught up with your blog… such a busy month. Lovely S choices and your title is sensational 🙂 I promise I will be back with an award… busy at the moment but hope it won’t take too long…maybe after Easter. Loved the sweet pea photo the best because I can pretend I’m smelling the fragrance from here!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it seems that we’ve both had a busy month. Thanks on both counts. I look forward to the award but there’s certainly no rush! I think that pictures of sweet peas in a vase gets most people’s noses twitching. xx

  14. Yum, sweetcorn, now there’s a good thing to dream about on a wet spring day! I agree about raspberries, I can’t get enough of them, though if I had more space I’d probably grow strawberries too. Sunflowers, sadly, don’t work in my garden, they turn their faces away from the house in an almost sulky manner, though one of these years I shall try some dwarf sunflowers again. Hope you get some sun today! I’m ordering compost…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet yes indeed. Good for you, but shame you’ve no space for strawberries. That’s a real shame that sunflowers don’t do well in your garden.
      It’s been sunny today but also very windy. xx

  15. wellywoman says:

    A lovely post, Flighty which conjures up summer. I’m so envious of your sweetcorn. I’ve tried growing it twice but to no avail. Have you any tips? Hope you have a lovely Easter. Fingers crossed for some good weather. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks. That’s a shame. I generally do well with sweetcorn, except for one year. I usually sow direct the first week of June, and once they germinate and start growing do nothing else except weed round if need be. I usually grow Golden Bantam or Sundance but this year I’m trying Seville.
      Thanks, and you too. Let’s hope so. xx

Leave a Reply

