There and here

I’ve been to the plot every morning this week where I’ve been planting potatoes and onions, and sowing broad beans.  It’s good to have started properly plotting again.

A single daffodilThe daffodils are providing plenty of colour, including this one lonely one which I obviously missed when I dug the rest up to move them. When it’s finished flowering I will replant it and several others as well.

I’ve now decided on what flowers are going where, and have already put the cane wigwam up for the sweet peas.

It’s The Year of the Sunflower so I’m going to make a special effect with mine.

Coming out of home yesterday morning around 9.00am I stopped and took the picture below left, and when I returned three hours later took the one on the right.

Wed, 24 March'15 09.00   Wed, 24 March'15 12.00

As you can see the nearest tree has been removed just leaving the stump.  It’s always sad to see mature trees go but this one was dead and the worry was that it would eventually topple in high winds.

Coleus 'Carefree Mixture'One advantage for me is that I now get more light in the living room which any plants on the window sill will appreciate.  At the moment I’ve just this one remaining Coleus blumeii Carefree Mixture but will be sowing some Coleus blumeii Fairway for new plants.

It’s dull and wet this morning, and the weather through the weekend looks like being wet and windy at times so I guess that I’ll just be pottering.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to There and here

  1. Chloris says:

    You’ ve got your potatoes in? I had better get mine in too then. The only trouble is the weather is grim today. I didn’ t realise we were in for a wet weekend. What a nuisance.
    I have broad beans coming a!ong in the greenhouse. If I sow them direct the mice eat them.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris only the first earlies, I’ll be planting the second earlies next week and main crop the week after. It’s looking like a wet at times and windy weekend here.
      Mice can be such a nuisance. xx

  2. CJ says:

    It’s lovely to get going again isn’t it. I’ve only managed one trip to the plot this week, but it felt like a very productive one. I was going to go this morning but it was unexpectedly (to me) wet. I had plans to sow radishes. Maybe next week. CJ xx

  3. Liz says:

    You have been busy plotting! It’s been pretty here too for the past few days; the soil is just drying out and, naturally, we’re expecting rain again today!
    I had no idea it was The Year of the Sunflower. Will have to make an extra special effort to grow them.
    It is sad to see a mature tree removed but understandable if it was posing a danger. Your coleus is benefitting!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I sure have. It’s good to see that you’ve had some good weather as well.
      I always grow sunflowers as they’re one of my favourites.
      I agree but if it had been left and toppled it could have damaged cars and the flats. it will do now, along with the next ones. xx

  4. Jo says:

    It’s wet and windy here today. It’s great to get to that time of year when we’re all busy plotting again, so exciting getting things started. I haven’t planted any potatoes yet, I’m giving it another week or two as it’s still rather cold up North.

  5. Joanne says:

    It’s quite windy here today to do anything, I hope to get things done next Friday instead if all goes to plan. It’s a shame the tree had to come done but a bit of extra light must be a blessing. x

  6. Isn’t it grand to be out and planting. Your daffodils are superb. I also have a nice few sunflowers this year.And I was going to say that you will have more light coming through, your coleus will definitely appreciate that. Have a good weekend, Flighty and hope the weather won’t be too bad x

    • Flighty says:

      Cath it certainly is. thanks. Good for you. I think that all the seeds will appreciate the extra light. Thanks, it looks like being rather unsettled and windy here. xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    An interesting variation of pictures. I was taken by the different natural light in each of the tree photos.
    The dead tree has had a varied life I should think, bearing in mind it may have lived through at least one major war period; the building up of urban life around it and massive technological developments. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir yes I noticed that. The sun was still behind the flats in the first one, but visible for the second.
      I’d guess that it was planted when the flats were built in the 1930’s so it survived well considering where it is. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    That’s one of my favorite coleus color combinations. Yours looks like a very healthy specimen, too. Ah, the last daff. It’s a good one to end on.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I prefer the cream and green ones. Thanks. No, not the last daffodil, just one on it’s own, there are more to come elsewhere on the plot. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    I do like coleus and yours is lovely! The difference a tree down makes, it’s odd to suddenly see the new landscape! Gosh…..I must try to get my spuds planted now, they are still chitting away! Awwww……your last daff! A lovely specimen!xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird me too, and thanks. Yes I keep looking out the window and seeing it differently. No rush I’ve only planted my first earlies, I’ve more to plant over the next couple of weeks. See my comment to Nikki above re the daffodil not being the last one. Thanks. xx

  10. It’s amazing how different your view can be by the lost of a tree. Outside my window a early flowering cherry tree used to grow. It was wonderful to see all the small birds that used to pick it over looking for insects. Losing it has opened up the view and let light onto my garden but I still miss seeing the birds as I sat at my keyboard. (my writing room is a small bedroom)
    I have my onions and potatoes in now and planted in pots, tomatoes, beans and squashes too in my greenhouse. Have a great weekend plotting, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula yes it really is. I have mixed feelings when a tree is lost, but this one needed to go. I think that I’ll be missing some birds too.
      Good for you. I’ll be sowing some things in pots soon.
      Thanks, and you. xx

  11. Julie says:

    We should be planting our Arran Pilots next week, we’ll fleece them for a while just to make sure they’ll be ok. Our garlic is going well, our onions are now putting up green shoots, our broad beans are up, tomatoes, sweet peppers, chilli peppers & aubergines all doing well. Also sown some carrots, beetroot and peas. Still sowing flowers, I have a lot of borders to fill again this year. I also don’t like to see mature trees chopped down, at least this one was actually dead. Enjoy the rest of the weekend :o) xx

    • Flighty says:

      Julie good for you, you’ve been busier than me by the sound of it. Hopefully I’ll be continuing to plant and sow next week.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  12. You’ve been busy!! I need to get my first earlies in too, and sow some broad beans. With so much work on I will emulating you this year Flighty, and sowing more things direct. It will be interesting to see the difference.

Leave a Reply

