I just wish…

that as well as looking like spring that it would also feel like it as a cool wind has made it just a touch nippy recently. It was nice to be plotting this morning as it’s a week since I last did any, having made just a couple of brief visits in-between times.  More daffodils have now flowered – More daffodils The rhubarb is growing well – Rhubarb And it’s good to see new growth on the perennial cornflowers (Centaurea montana) – Perennial cornflower new growthWhilst working I was pleased to see a bumble bee and a brown butterfly, possibly a Small Tortoiseshell,  flying around but neither settled so I could take photos of them.

It looks like staying mostly dry and getting slightly warmer next week, although there is a possibility of frost one or two nights,  so I may just be tempted to start planting and sowing.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I just wish…

  1. menhir1 says:

    The rhubarb is mighty regal and it’s just a babe!

    It’s wet here today, like you, temperatures are down on what we have had – lower than yours- however, when we experience that rare phenomenon of little or no wind for a short time, it can feel like Spring has sprung. I can’t believe I have added one extra warm layer to wear indoors after such a pleasant day yesterday.

    Are they your second growth of Daffodils?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it’s certainly looking good.
      There’s been surprising little rain here recently. It’s been very unsettled, which hasn’t helped. Let’s hope that we all get soon better weather soon.
      They another group of them, and a different variety hence flowering later. xx

  2. josiecrafter says:

    Snap! I’m wishing the temperature would nudge up a few degrees, too. I’m sure the warmer weather is just around the corner …

  3. CJ says:

    Yes, it’s chilly isn’t it. Your rhubarb’s looking good. Not long now until crumble time. CJ xx

  4. Liz says:

    You and I have the same things growing, although my daffs are just in bud, the rhubarb and perennial cornflowers are just pushing through the soil. My hellebores and Scilla are blooming. It’s the second pretty day in a row here in Kentucky. Mid 50sF, which is good for spadework. I’ve also been cutting back wild honeysuckle which runs rampant here. Forecast is for rain and chilly days ahead, so best make the most of gardening weather!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz you’ve plenty to look forward to soon. Thank goodness that you’ve had some better weather. It sounds like you’ve been busy. I think that’s the forecast for here as well, if it it’ll be typical Easter weather. xx

  5. Julie says:

    Yes I’m missing the warmer weather we were getting. Our rhubarb is just pushing through now and our perennial cornflowers are at the same stage as yours. Our weather week shows chilly still and some wet stuff.. not what I want to hear! Have a good week Flighty :o) xx

  6. Its that time of year, isn’t it, nearly but not quite warm enough to get going with serious sowing and planting. It was really warm here yesterday, but today was distinctly nippy again, a good warning not to get too over excited!

  7. snowbird says:

    There certainly is a chill in the air, but as you say, it’s great to see the occasional blue sky. I am most impressed with your rhubarb, I must check if mine is growing. Good to hear you have bumbles and butterflies, I saw a brown butterfly today too, I have noticed lots of ladybirds about.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird some sunshine certainly makes a welcome difference when it’s nippy. So am I! It’s always good to see such wildlife out and about at this time of year. xx

  8. Chloris says:

    It looks like Spring but you are right there is a nip in the air, I was out gardening all day yesterday and today and ended up so cold at the end of the day. I do hope it will warm up soon.

  9. The rhubarb is up through the ground and the cornflowers are blooming here as well so we are right about at the same stage…It is such a wonderful time of year.

  10. Caro says:

    I’m definitely holding off proper sowing until mid-April and contenting myself with the hardier stuff for now like broad beans, peas and kale. As I grew lots of winter veg, I still have a fairly green plot (and yellow – the daffs!) so I’m in less of a rush but am still sorting out the patch for this year and, gosh, wasn’t it cold yesterday! Hope there’s warmer weather on the way, it would be nice to stay out for a bit longer!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro that sounds like a good idea, as does less of a rush. It certainly was nippy.
      I hope so too, so that we’re all a bit happier and warmer. xx

  11. Jo says:

    It’s definitely still chilly but I don’t think it will be long now until it warms up a little, spring is here. I saw my first bumblebee of the year last week but I haven’t yet seen any butterflies. The daffodils are such a cheery sight, I’ve got a few flowering but most are yet to bloom.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m sure that you’re right that it’ll warm up soon. Bumblebees always amaze me. They really are, and I’m sure that you’ll be enjoying yours soon. xx

  12. Joanne says:

    Yes it is still a little chilly at times out there. We had quite a frost yesterday morning too! I saw my first bumblebee yesterday afternoon, a rather fat little thing it was. Take care

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne my plot is in the middle of the site so I certainly feel the chill wind. I’m not surprised, and there may be one here this week. They are wonderful creatures. Thanks, and you too. xx

  13. wellywoman says:

    We were lucky with the weather last week – the first t-shirt day of the year so far. It was chilly out of the sun though. And today is dull and cold again. I can’t wait for a decent spell of warm weather. It’s exciting though that everything is growing. I’ve seen lots of ladybirds and butterflies too. Fingers crossed for a great summer. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it makes all the difference doesn’t it. Nor me. I think that we all have that sense of excitement at this time of year. Good for you. Let’s hope so. xx

  14. nikkipolani says:

    A very pretty stand of daffs, Flighty. Very cheerful news, too, those warm and dry days. Happy planting!

  15. Flighty says:

    Nikki they sure are. It is providing the forecast is right. Thanks. xx

Leave a Reply

