This year’s crocuses

Purple crocusesSadly now that the purple ones in a container have almost finished flowering that’s it for this year’s crocuses.  I will replant these in the ground, probably with the white and yellow ones under the rose bush which did really well this year. Unfortunately the small Blue Pearl and Cream Beauty ones in the long planter didn’t do at all well this year so I will replant these in the ground as well, and will have a think about what to plant in it in the autumn. My favourites were these larger pure white Joan of Arc, and the all yellow ones. Mostly white crocuses Have a good weekend! [Click on either picture to see a larger image] Footnote ~ thanks to everyone who commented on my last post.  My phone land-line and internet connection were sorted out and reconnected yesterday afternoon.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to This year’s crocuses

  1. CJ says:

    Glad to see you back online Flighty. Lovely crocuses, I like the white ones and the all yellow ones are well. CJ xx

  2. Very pretty! Glad to hear you’re back online. That can be so frustrating.

  3. Doris Potter says:

    Beautiful crocuses to put me in a spring-like mood! Thanks! 🙂

  4. Awesome and thank you for sharing Flighty, have a blessed weekend too.

  5. Caro says:

    I’ve really enjoyed some purple crocuses that I grew in pots on my balcony this year. They’ve now faded so, like you, I’ll move them into the garden. I like the look of your white crocuses – and there are several rose bushes here crying out for a bit of spring colour! In the meantime, I’ve got a pot of muscari about to flower on the balcony. I realised last year that growing spring bulbs in pots was a better way to enjoy them close up and yet still be able to move them while waiting for the leaves to die back, otherwise I was looking at yellowing leaves until the summer! Caro x

  6. Jo says:

    Glad to hear that you’ve got your phone line and internet connection sorted out. I’m a new fan of white crocuses after my happy accident this year. Those Joan of Arc look beautiful, such large flowers.

  7. menhir1 says:

    For their size, those flowers punch above their weight in cheerfulness. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    So glad to hear you’re back online, Flighty. I know what you mean about bulbs petering out. I planted many mini-daffs and had a pretty paltry showing. Same with the ranunculus. Maybe it’s our too-warm climate. Do crocuses tend to naturalize better in the ground? Maybe they’ll multiply and do better next year.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks. It’s a problem that most gardener’s seem to have at one time or another. It could be your climate. Yes crocuses do better in the ground, where they should multiply. Let’s hope so. xx

  9. Julie says:

    Glad you’re back online. Lovely crocuses.. those white ones are gorgeous with their bright yellow/orange middles, might just have to get some for the garden later in the year :o) xx

  10. snowbird says:

    Good to hear you are connected again, it’s so frustrating being cut off from the internet.
    I love your white crocus, hopefully they will double and spread next year.xxx

  11. Carrie says:

    So glad to see you back so quickly 🙂 My favourites are definately your white ones, they are so stunning with the yellow stamens xx

  12. My purple crocuses are fading too, and cream beauty was over a week or so ago, but aren’t they beautiful little flowers. Lovely to grow them in containers too, much easier to admire them like that.

  13. Shamini says:

    They are beautiful – they are such a ray of sunshine when it’s gloomy outside.

Leave a Reply

