Tree Following, March 2015 – A fig tree

Trevor's fig tree, 11 Mar'15  (1-3)As I mentioned last month this fig tree is only about 12 feet tall and is perhaps 25 years old.  When Trevor was given it some 20 years ago it was obviously considerably smaller and in a container.  Before transferring it onto his plot he made a pit for for it lined with paving slabs to constrict the growth and produce more fruit.

Trevor's fig tree, 11 Mar'15 (2-3)Looking at it yesterday I noted that the trunk had divided into two a couple of feet up with the right-hand one further dividing a few feet further up.

Trevor's fig tree, 11 Mar'15, (3-3)

Close up I could that the branch ends are now showing green points of emerging new growth.

Many readers of this blog will know that I like biscuits but fig rolls are not among my favourites.  If you like them then have a look at Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Down’s 21st Century Fig Festival!

See Lucy’s Tree Following post for details of what it’s all about, and this post for other tree followers posts for this month.

Happy tree following!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tree Following, March 2015 – A fig tree

  1. I re-potted my fig last year in a container in the ground. I too was pleased to see that it had come through the winter and is showing signs of waking up to the new year. Hopeful it will bear more fruit now and grow taller too. I have planted it in a sunny position in the garden.

  2. Chloris says:

    A great tree to follow. You might not like fig rolls and neither do I, but a lovely, ripe juicy fig is a wonderful thing.

  3. Mark Willis says:

    Well, I do like fig-rolls! Actually I like figs in any form – fresh, dried, cooked etc. I have a little fig-tree now, but I expect it will be some years before it produces any fruit.

  4. coastcard says:

    I’m not keen on fig rolls, though I do like fig trees, and grew up with one in our garden. Just occasionally the fruit would ripen.

  5. Jo says:

    I love fig rolls, I didn’t know each type differed so much but I’m not fussy, any would do for me. I think fig trees are wonderful for their ornamental value too.

  6. CJ says:

    A really wonderful tree. I’m glad to hear it’s planted in a restricted place. I repotted a couple of figs this week and the roots were phenomenal. I’d quite like one at my plot, fresh figs are wonderful. I’m not sure I have the space though, and we’re not allowed trees higher than 7′. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. I didn’t realise until this morning when I was chatting to Trevor just how restricted it is. It sounds like yours are doing well. xx

  7. Felix says:

    Wow, what a wonderful fig tree. Figs don’t usually grow that big in Germany, they freeze in some winters but regrow the following spring – thus they rather appear as shrubs, not trees. Lucky you!

    • Flighty says:

      Felix hello, and thanks for commenting. It’s the biggest one on the allotments, and most of the others are more like shrubs. It’s actually a plot neighbour’s tree.

  8. Julie says:

    That’s a lovely fig tree… I like figs rolls and tried my very first fresh fig off our own little fig tree last year.. gorgeous. Our little fig tree is also showing signs of new growth :o) xx

  9. snowbird says:

    Interesting to hear how the fig has been contained! My fig is showing green tips too p.s….I don’t like fig rolls either, I haven’t tasted fresh figs though.xxx

  10. Your tree is looking good this month! Can’t say I’ve ever heard of a fig roll but I’ll try just about anything.

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Fascinating how Trevor restricted the tree’s growth this way. And it looks to have worked as the tree continues to thrive after all these years.

Leave a Reply

