First signs of spring

Over the past week I’ve spent most mornings on the plot and I’ve now reached the stage where I’m twiddling my fingers waiting to start planting and sowing in a week or two, weather permitting. On Sunday I cleared and dug round the dustbin lid pond, which I re-levelled and put new stones in.  The bright green foliage are self-seeded poached egg plants (limnanthes douglasii). The flower patch and dustbin lid pondToday is a lovely sunny and warm spring day. The daffodils have started flowering, with these mini ones the first to appear and lots more to follow. Mini daffodilsOther welcome signs of spring are tiny pinheads of new growth all over the blackthorn which will grow and burst into blossom before too long, and the hydrangea that I acquired last summer is showing welcome signs of new growth. New growth on the hydrangea Happy gardening! [Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to First signs of spring

  1. Liz says:

    Oh my goodness! What a lovely sight!

  2. nikkipolani says:

    How lovely to see a birdseye view of the plot and where things are situated. I like the dustbin-lid pond — hope the wildlife likes it, too. Inspired by your mini-dafs, I planted some this season and they are blooming as well.

  3. menhir1 says:

    Accidental layout, courtesy of nature? Your plot looks really good, very inviting to all those plants you have already and those you are itching to grow. xx

  4. Julie says:

    I love this time of year.. I like your dustbin lid pond.. It’s always good to have a pond no matter how small :o) Signs of Spring everywhere.. wonderful :o) xx

  5. CJ says:

    Your plot is beautifully immaculate, well done you. I’m intrigued as to how you took the photo. Did you shin up a tree? Lovely to see the dustbin lid pond looking so fresh. Hopefully the frogs will enjoy it. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks, I’ve been lucky with the amount of time I’ve been able to spend on it. It’s an optical illusion as it was only taken at head height standing on the pallet patio, but there is a slight uphill gradient to the plot up to the roadway. It needed refreshing, and I hope so as I’ve never seen frogs in this one. xx

  6. snowbird says:

    It all looks meticulous! Lovely to see the first signs of new growth and those daffs. The pond is such a good idea and such a simple one, the difference it makes to wildlife is astonishing. Roll on the sowing, I can’t wait to get going either.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it would be nice if it stayed that way without too much work. It sure is. I agree, and goes to show what can be used. Yes indeed, I’m not surprised. xx

  7. elaine says:

    Lovely to see the daffs in flower.

  8. Jo says:

    Ha ha, I was going to ask exactly the same question as CJ re the shinning up a tree. Your plot is looking fabulous. We rarely get round to a winter dig so we’re always playing catch up at this time of year. The daffodils look lovely edging the beds, I’d like to get some on my plot this autumn ready for the spring.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo have a look at my comment to CJ. I’m going to take more photos and have a close look at them as it does look like I’m much higher than I was. Thanks, I was lucky with all the work I got done through the late autumn and early winter. I moved nearly all my daffodils to the top edge where I think they look better. That sounds like a good idea. xx

  9. Wow, what a great picture of your allotment. Is that all of it, or just part? I want to get a clear picture of it so I know which part you are talking about when you write about it in your posting. My sister has an allotment and she has about four plots. I have no idea how you go about getting one or if you are only allowed one plot etc. She said she took on two other plots along side hers after their owners were no longer looking after them. Happy planting Flighty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

