Tree Following, March 2015 – Liz’s Stewartia

This is Liz’s second guest Tree Following post following on from last month’s.

It was Lucy’s post You’ve got to see it to believe it last Tuesday about the view near Chesil Beach, Dorset, UK, and how the same area changes by season that inspired me to do something similar with the Japanese Stewartia that I’m following.

Japanese Stewartia, 18 February 2015The tree itself hasn’t changed much, if at all, outwardly over the past few weeks but the weather sure has.

Here is the Stewartia  in mid-February just after we had nearly a foot of snow here in central Kentucky.

It stayed like that until the end of the month when, despite continuing temperatures well below freezing, the ground finally starting to show again.

Chasing 'Woozles'!My dogs, Charlie and Dulcie, decided that they had better things to do than inspect the tree so they chased wild woozles! To look at their girth you would have no idea that they go on daily walks. Watching them look busy reminds me of Pooh and Piglet – hence the wild woozles which must be kept at bay.

See Lucy’s Tree Following post for details of what it’s all about, and this one for links to other tree followers posts for this month.

My thanks to Mike for letting me guest post, and to Lucy for hosting Tree Following.

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

Footnote ~  Liz sent me this post during last week since when there has been another snowstorm which made the news here in the UK.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tree Following, March 2015 – Liz’s Stewartia

  1. Jo says:

    I’m sure there’ll be some changes to see in the tree very soon, it must be getting ready to start in to growth again. Charlie and Dulcie look to be enjoying themselves. My Archie is on a diet, no matter how many walks he has (and he has plenty) he doesn’t walk off all that he eats, he’s such a greedy dog.

  2. Liz says:

    Jo, I am sure spring will come here sometime soon and hope the tree has withstood the wild swings in temperature over the past few months. I took a look at Archie. He’s adorable! And you are remarkably well-organized with your vegetable trays. Thanks, Liz

  3. I have to admit I’m really looking forward to seeing what your tree becomes! Great post.

    • Liz says:

      Anna, thank you. I am hoping the Stewartia holds up to the advance press! I see you are following a Shumard oak in drought-stricken north Texas. The tree looks magnificent and holding its own in adverse circumstances. Liz

  4. snowbird says:

    Oh goodness, how cold it looks, I feel hard done to with a cold wind!!! I do hope it warms up there soon. I did enjoy meeting your dogs, they do look well-muscled!xxx

    • Liz says:

      Snowbird, it’s been a wild ride here in recent weeks, but the forecasters says we’re in for a few days in the 50sF. I still talk in Fahrenheit from my English upbringing and because the US hasn’t yet made the switch to metric!
      Charley, especially thinks “well-muscled” is a good description. “Strengthening exercises” and all that! I saw your lively doggies and a pup and some mince pies. yum! Thanks, Liz

  5. CJ says:

    A beautiful winter landscape, a perfect photo to remember the snow. I shall look forward to seeing it in the depths of summer to compare. CJ xx

    • Liz says:

      CJ, Thank you for the positive feedback on what I have to admit was a lovely snowy landscape. I’m not much of a photographer, but I hope there will be at least one decent picture come summer!
      BTW, you and Flighty both deserve top honors for shed tidiness. Liz

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Well, Liz, perhaps the dogs’ girth is their winter padding against the cold. They certainly look happy.

  7. Liz says:

    Aw, Nikki, Charley is shamelessly chuffed to hear he has extra padding against the cold. Quite right too. Dulcie is rather quiet and defers to him, so whatever he says, goes. Thank you! Liz

  8. Flighty says:

    A most enjoyable post. I like the photos, all that snow and two contented dogs.
    I’ve no doubt that once spring does arrive there your tree will awaken and change quite quickly. xx

    • Liz says:

      Mike, thanks, and thanks for having me as a guest! Now the snow has almost gone and we have torrential rain! The dogs prefer to be out in the snow.

  9. I’m late in reading the post and here we are on the first day of spring. It doesn’t seem greatly different from yesterday so I’ll have to concentrate on imagining it. The equinox doesn’t mark change as visibly as snow melt.

  10. Liz says:

    Lucy, it certainly doesn’t seem like the first day of spring here either! Damp and dreary outside. Someday, the warm weather will arrive and stay awhile and then we’ll complain about the heat. . .

Leave a Reply

