March delights

My thanks to Glo (Porcelain Rose) for this Q & R Award and Recipe which looks rather delicious so I’ll be giving it a go in the summer.

Q & R Award and Recipe

The rhubarb has just started to appear despite something, a fox I would guess, digging around over the top of it some days recently.

I’ve been doing some plotting most mornings this week as it’s been dry and sunny, although the wind has remained rather chilly.

On Tuesday I could hear a robin close by but couldn’t see it for ages until I realised that it was sitting in the hawthorn just a few feet away from me.

Robin in the hawthornΒ Β More white crocuses

The white and yellow crocuses are still doing well with lots of bees on them. Β The daffodils won’t be long as the buds are now appearing.

The forecast is looking good so it looks like I’ll be doing plenty more plotting right through into early next week at least.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to March delights

  1. Congratulations on your award, Flighty. Yes the weather is suppose to improve here too, so we may be able to start digging now. Have a good weekend you too x

  2. Jo says:

    I’m already looking forward to the first rhubarb crumble of the year. The milder weather may see me sowing a few more seeds, I’m itching to get going now that March is here but I’ve been holding off as much as I can as it’s been so cold. Your crocuses are beauties, I’ve got some very similar. I thought they were cream when I picked up the packet but realised they were white when I got home and read the description, and it’s a happy mistake because I’ve never grown white ones before and they’re really lovely.

  3. Liz says:

    Send some of that weather over here to Central Kentucky! We’ve been deluged in the the past 24 hours with everything Mother Nature could throw our way: torrential rain and 50sF, low 30sF and sleet, followed by heavy wet snow for 12 hours and now temps dipping to minus zero F tonight!
    The raspberry crisp recipe sounds good; the robin is watching you at work, and the crocus is really pretty. Keep up the good work.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’ll do what I can! Let’s hope that it’s winter’s last fling there and better weather isn’t far away. You sure have had just about everything haven’t you.
      Thanks. I’ll certainly try. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    Your award is fantastic!!! I love Glo’s ingenuity! It’s good to hear you have a fox about. Robins will sing no matter what, I have to admire them. The white crocus are delightful, here’s to a warmer weekend to us all.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it sure is. me too. I’ve not seen much of the foxes for ages but clearly they’re still resident. They do indeed, and I do too. Let’s hope so. xx

  5. CJ says:

    Gorgeous white crocuses. I’m aiming to get down to the plot tomorrow as well. Let’s hope it stays dry. CJ xx

  6. elaine says:

    Glo is so good at these things isn’t she – it does sound a delicious recipe I may even try making it myself. I don’t have any white crocus I must remedy that for next year. I haven’t done anything in the garden yet, shame on me, but I’m not very good at working in the cold, but there’s still plenty of time.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine she certainly is, and if you do make it I’m sure it’ll be better than my effort. I think that the white ones are well worth having. Although it’s been dry there has still been a fresh wind. Early days yet. xx

  7. The raspberry-rhubarb recipe sounds scrumptious. I plan to jot it down and give it to my mom. The raspberries and rhubarb will have to be store-bought unfortunately. And she won’t be able to eat it because of the sugar content (unless she can figure out a sugar substitute). But I’m sure my husband and I won’t mind eating it for her.

  8. Glo says:

    Thanks for highlighting the Q-R reward, Flighty! The trophy holds a bouquet of Quaking Grass, Flowering Quince and your very own Pretty Lady Roses. I found the recipe for the Raspberry Rhubarb crisp here ~ http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/raspberry-rhubarb-crisp. Realized I hadn’t put a reference to that on the award…I was too busy making sure the oats were included in the ingredients! Your white crocus is very pretty ~ and one of your favorite coloured flowers. How nice to spot the robin and to be sharing time with it when you were out and about on the plot. There is a full mini-moon tonight!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re most welcome. I did notice the flowers when I put it on this post, but hadn’t beforehand! Thanks for the link.
      The white crocuses seem to almost shimmer. It took me ages to spot the robin hidden away like that. A full mini-moon sounds interesting, I hope that you got to see it. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Oooh, what a nice combination recipe for two of your favorite foods. You’ll have to let us know if you try the recipe. I love the sight of the little robin singing away while you work.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is. Even if I don’t I’m sure that I can persuade someone I know to try it, especially as I’ll be providing the raspberries and rhubarb. xx

  10. With this warm weather I have been thinking of you busy on your allotment. Yesterday, I even thought I should get out and cut my grass. Have a great weekend too.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula I’ve been there most mornings this week. it’s now dry, and warm, enough to cut grass. Thanks. xx

      • I was out cutting my lawns this morning too. I have some stuff to put on the lawn to kill the weeds. You need three dry days after cutting your grass before you put it on, the four dry days afterwards before you can cut it again. Just hope I’ve got my timing right or maybe I’ve misunderstood what the instruction said πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

