Q and R…

continues the sort of Plot A to Z  occasional series of posts.

Among the Pollen & Nectar Meadow mixture seeds I mentioned recently is the ornamental grass Briza maxima which has the common name Quaking grass.

If I had a garden then I think that one of the shrubs in it would be a flowering Quince.

Moving on to R which includes my favourite soft fruit and a really lovely flower.

I love Raspberries so have about twenty plants, a mix of summer and autumn fruiting varieties which give me plenty of fruit over a long period.  I see that they are reported to be an especially healthy food according to various websites including this one.

Rhubarb is a plant that is seen on most allotments and mine is no exception.  At this time of year the stems are just starting to appear above ground, although mine have yet to do so. Once ready to pick I usually take home just a few stems to cut up, gently stew for a few minutes then eat with a sprinkling of demerara sugar.

The Rose Pretty Lady is the plot’s star plant as it starts blooming during May, or early June, in time for rose lover Nikkipolani’s birthday, then continues through to late autumn.

Rose 'Pretty Lady', mid May 2014

Have a good week!

Edited Wed, 4 March to thank Glo (Porcelain Rose) for this Flighty’s Q & R Award and Recipe for this post which sounds delicious, and which I will try in the summer.

Q & R Award and Recipe

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Q and R…

  1. Sounds like you know just what you want to plant this year. I want to do a bit more with my garden, but with my other on going projects ie writing & painting I can only do one thing at a time. My main project this year is to sort out the lawns. I’ve planted a couple of roses my friend had grown from cuttings for me.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula I hope I do! Good for you, and I sympathise trying to juggle several interests like that. Good luck with the lawns, and I hope that the roses do well for you. xx

  2. Liz says:

    Flowering quince is an attractive shrub. I don’t have one either, but they are prevalent in the area.
    Both rhubarb and raspberries are yummy! And that Pretty Lady rose keeps on giving, and gives Nikkipolani a birthday bonus each year!

  3. Jo says:

    My rhubarb has started to growth I’m looking forward to harvest time already. I agree about flowering quince, I wouldn’t mind one myself.

  4. Quince is a beautiful plant but I haven’t had one in a long time. Rhubarb is wonderful but not something that can be grown in our clime. My husband’s folks used to grow it up in New York state. We can find it in the grocery store on occasion.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Flowering quince are such dramatic flowers aren’t they? I purchased one for my dad two years ago, but I think it died from kindness (over-watering). You picked a lovely specimen when you chose that rose. And its blooms are perfectly timed, too 😉

  6. CJ says:

    I’m a big fan of flowering quinces and raspberries as well. I found a piece of rhubarb root on my plot the other day. It’s quite a mystery where it came from, but not one to look a gift plant in the mouth I planted it, and it’s looking quite happy already. Somehow I seem to be accumulating a few roses, at the plot and at home, I have five now, they’re hard to resist. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ good for you. That was lucky finding the rhubarb like that. Lucky you, I’d dearly like to acquire a few more roses but have resisted so far. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    I love raspberries too, although recently I converted to loganberries. Our rhubarb are at the same stage, mine is still submerged too. Oh….sighs….Pretty lady is perfection personified! Enchanting!xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I still prefer raspberries. My rhubarb is just starting to show itself. It’s nice to see that you, and others, like my Pretty Lady rose. xx

  8. Chloris says:

    Do you force your rhubarb? I put a bucket over mine to draw it up. I love the early season tender rhubarb.

  9. Glo says:

    Here you go, Flighty! A direct link to your award (and recipe). I know you don’t seem to bake, but this recipe combining two favorites with a crispy top, might just be worth attempting 😉

  10. Glo says:

    Stop the presses! I had to re-load the link because when I copied and pasted the recipe, I had inadvertently missed the oats!! Can’t have crisp without toasty oats…so here’s a redo link

  11. Glo says:

    Oy! Still no oats ~ I have now saved it once more, and uploaded it to Photobucket…cross your fingers ~ here is your award and recipe ~ if it starts with 1 cup rolled oats, it is correct!

  12. The rose Pretty Lady is gorgeous and would certainly be a star in my garden as well.

  13. elaine says:

    I am looking forward to rhubarb and raspberries too – I will have to check and see how they are doing. Have a good week.

  14. menhir1 says:

    Which letter or letters of the alphabet is/are more difficult to attach to a flower, or, plant Mr F?
    xxxx

  15. pianolearner says:

    We have Polka which is one of my favourite rasberries. We had a fantastic crop last year compared to the year before which had loads of fruit but also hundreds of wasps rendering them unreachable.

Leave a Reply

