Crocuses, crocosmia and compost

Ladybird on log, 17 Feb'15Yesterday was another sunny day so I spent the morning plotting.  I dug over several small areas where I’m going to grow the tall single sunflowers.  It was warm enough for several ladybirds to be active on the woodpile.

The yellow crocuses were open in the sunshine and honey bees making the most of them.

Crocuses, yellow and honeybee 18Feb'15 (4-15)

New crocosmia growthNew crocosmia growth has started to appear so I roughly cleared the old leaves away to give it some light.  I will do a proper tidy up and weed round later on.

This morning started sunny but it soon clouded over and was starting to rain as I walked home.  Whilst there I looked at the compost heap which I’ve left alone since November and was pleased to see that there are lots of red worms in it, and that it’s good enough to turn out and use. I’d normally be hoping to do that during the next few weeks but this year I’ll probably leave it and just dig out a bucketful or two to use when I plant or sow the runner beans, sweetcorn and tomatoes  during late May or early June.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Crocuses, crocosmia and compost

  1. Jenny says:

    I am loving these glimmers of warmth we’re getting now. Your crocuses are lovely, such bright colours.

  2. Liz says:

    Oh, your lovely signs of spring!

  3. Joanne says:

    I spotted a ladybird last week, no bees yet though unfortunately. A good idea to conserve your compost that way, & the roots will get all the goodness x

  4. menhir1 says:

    Things are racing forward at your end. Has spring truly sprung? Xxx

  5. Mark Willis says:

    Why is it that you will be leaving most of the compost this time? Any particular reason?

  6. snowbird says:

    Those crocus positively GLOW! How lovely to see them, and that little ladybird, I’ve noticed several about too. Your compost did well this year, that’s good going in such a short time!xxx

  7. CJ says:

    Gorgeous crocuses. I need to empty out some compost, at home and at the plot. If it would just stop raining for a bit. CJ xx

  8. Jo says:

    I’ve seen neither flowering crocuses or ladybirds as yet, the crocuses won’t be long though. My crocosmia has started to grow though so I need to sort out all the old growth too. I’d like to grow some tall single sunflowers this year, if only the slugs would leave them alone.

  9. The rich colors of spring are so refreshing, so wonderful.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Always good to see happy bees. Glad you could enjoy the sun while it shone. With our different climates, your crocosmia seem to be in an entirely different cycle to mine which die back mid-summer and revive in the fall.

  11. elaine says:

    Doesn’t that make a lovely sunny photo – I have a few cream ones out so far.

  12. VP says:

    Snap! I’ve just been clearing away the crocosmia foliage too. I’m wondering what to do with mine – I seem to have chosen a particularly prolific variety!

  13. Chloris says:

    Lovely crocuses or should they be croci? We have had some lovely days here too but torrential rain last night has made everything just too soggy to work on.

  14. Hanwell Life says:

    I’m just starting my new compost bin so don’t really know how long this takes, hoping to have something useable this season

  15. Julie says:

    Hi Flighty.. loving the signs of spring. Great photo of the crocuses and bee :o) Our honey bees have been out and about on the sunny days collecting pollen.. it’s great to see :o) xx

Leave a Reply

