A blooming good year!

Last Sunday was calm, sunny and warm enough to do some plotting without gloves. The sunshine persuaded the first crocus to open which was nice to see.  There are plenty more to come, like these yellow ones.

Crocus, white, 1-15   Crocus, yellow, 1-15

Sorting out some seeds during the week it struck me just how many more flower seeds I have than vegetables.  Much as I like growing, and eating, my own vegetables it really pleases me to see all the flowers that I grow from seed every year.

Annuals that I’ll be sowing include pink and white Corn Cockle (Agrostemma githago), Pot Marigolds (Calendula officinalis) Flighty’s Favourites various colours , Cornflowers (Centaurea cyanus) various including the white variety Snowman,  Cosmos (Cosmos bipannatus) mostly white, California Poppies (Eschscholzia californica) orange, yellow and white, Sunflowers (Helianthus annus and debilis*) Autumn Beauty, Tall Single and Vanilla Ice* bronze, cream, lemon, mahogany, old gold and yellow; Sweet Peas (Lathyrus odoratus) various colours,  Love-In-A-Mist (Nigella damescena) blue and white, and Nasturtiums (Tropaeolum majus) including orange, red and yellow.

Gardening smilesI’m particularly looking forward to growing some tall single sunflowers as I’ve not grown any for a few years and, as I do every year, I had to buy a packet of nasturtiums Tom Thumb Mixed from Chiltern Seeds as their catalogue for this item says…If you can’t grow these, you’d better give up gardening as a hobby!

Thanks to Karen, Sunny Day Photography, for this garden smiles picture.

 

Let’s hope that for all of us it’s a blooming good year!

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A blooming good year!

  1. menhir1 says:

    Your gardening year has begun Mr F. Unless you plant seeds from a mixed packet, like I did a couple of years ago, which tells you all inside are good for wildlife, you won’t have need of the amusing medallions you posted. XX

  2. Joanne says:

    I like the final photo, very amusing. I shall look forward to seeing your white corn cockle, I have the purple & enjoy it very much. You have a lovely selection of flowers to look forward to this year & I hope they do very well for you x

  3. elaine says:

    I still have to decide what I am going to grow this year – although I have bought a container of wild flower seeds that are mixed with small vermiculite that you just shake over the ground and rake in. It will be interesting to see just what emerges. Hopefully it will contain most of those which you have mentioned. Nice to see your crocus – mine are only just poking through. Love those three signs which all seem to apply to me.

  4. Silverleaf says:

    Why not save seeds from your nasturtiums? It’s really easy and you save money for other seeds!

    Silverleaf x

  5. snowbird says:

    How lovely to see your first crocus, mine are beginning to pop out too, the bees will be happy.
    Those signs had me smiling! I could do with a few of those…..I’ve been out and about buying seed today, I love your choices and look forward to seeing them grow.xxx

  6. Liz says:

    Pretty crocus! Like Elaine, I have not ordered any seeds yet this season and had better make up my mind. You are well prepared! Love the “garden smiles” photo.
    6 – 10 inches of snow forecast here for tonight into tomorrow and then days of frigid temps, so it’s nice to see gardens showing signs of spring in other parts.

  7. Chloris says:

    I am always so glad to see those first early crocuses opening up in the sunshine. I grow the white corncockle too it is stunning, everyone always wants to know what it is.

  8. CJ says:

    I love seeing the first crocuses, and that cream one is gorgeous. I’m looking forward to growing flowers this year as well, I shall try and fit some more in down at the allotment. CJ xx

  9. Doris Potter says:

    I loved your photos and the little sayings made me smile … 🙂

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Warm and sunny? Wonderful! Those crocuses are certainly cheering. Your annuals choices are quite lovely and colorful. They’ll make a pretty splash when their time comes.

  11. Your first crocus! Here’s hoping for many more in the coming weeks. I have packets of a number of different sunflowers just waiting to be planted. I had itchy fingers yesterday because it was so nice, but I controlled myself! Good luck with your flowers, it sounds like you have quite an interesting selection.

  12. Hanwell Life says:

    I love nasturtiums, they remind me of my childhood in South Africa, they truly are the easiest things to grow and can go a bit mad. I’m still trying to decide what flowers to grow on my plot. I’ve bought some HUGE sunflowers that the kids will love and some sweet peas, I now think I will grow some nasturtiums too for some lovely colour.

  13. Jo says:

    We should definitely be getting a few good days here and there soon where we can plot without gloves, it does feel good to be getting on with things again. It’s nice to see your crocuses blooming, there’s none open here as yet but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time now. It’s good that you grow so many different flowers amongst the veggies, colour is something that’s missing on my plot, I must try harder this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I hope so as I’ve done more than enough armchair gardening lately. All the crocuses need is a bit of sunshine. Thanks, I just wish that I could grow more flowers. I’m sure your plot will be colourful this year. xx

  14. Carrie says:

    Loving the overall flowery and happy yellowness of this post. Thanks for the eye candy xx

Leave a Reply

