Tree Following, February 2015 – A fig tree

This year I wanted to follow a tree that is markedly different to the willow that I followed through 2014 so I spent several weeks looking around at various candidates. I narrowed it down to a handful then had a another look before deciding which one to follow.

Trevor's fig treeIt’s a fig tree (Ficus carica) at the other end of the allotment site on Trevor’s plot.  It stands about twelve feet high,  perhaps twenty five years old and is probably a Brown Turkey.

As you can see it looks dormant at present, and rather uninteresting, but I hope that by next month it will be showing signs of new growth.  Click on the picture to see a larger image.

I don’t eat figs and know little about them so I’ll be learning all about it as I follow it’s progress through the year.  As well as reading the Wikipedia link above I found this 2005 Guardian article Fig Easy, written by Monty Don, an interesting read.

See Lucy’s Tree Following post for details of what it’s all about, and this post for other tree follower’s posts for this month.

Happy Tree Following, and have a good weekend!

[PS ~ I’d like to say thanks to everyone who commented on Liz’s guest post, and I know that she was delighted with them.]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Tree Following, February 2015 – A fig tree

  1. CJ says:

    Wonderful, figs are my absolute favourite trees. Like Monty, I like everything about them. I had my first home grown figs last year, they were delicious, but the foliage is lovely as well. I always get excited when I spot a fig tree! CJ xx

  2. Chloris says:

    Well, you will have to try eating figs this year as part of your tree following experience. A great choice of tree.

  3. Liz says:

    What fun to follow your neighbour’s fig tree. Does it produce fruit? I am a late-comer to enjoying figs; you may find that your fig-tree following instils a desire to taste one! The Monty Don article was an interesting read.
    [I have enjoyed reading the comments on my tree. Thanks!]

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it sure is. Yes, I know that Trevor generally gets a good crop of fruit. I’ll probably try one. Good to see that you found that article interesting. You’re welcome. xx

  4. Jo says:

    I shall enjoy following the fig this year. As you know, I bought a twig in Morrisons last year and it grew quite a bit, not quite twelve foot yet though so it will be nice to see what my little twig will eventually grow in to.

  5. I have a fig tree in my garden. I bought it for a fiver and had it in a pot. You have to restrict the roots for it to produce fruit. Last year I moved it to a bigger pot which I buried in the ground and put it in a sunny position, so this year I’m hoping for more fruit as my husband loves them. Fresh figs have so much more taste than dried figs.

  6. We had several fig trees when I was growing up (eons ago!). I had some chickens that would sit on the lower limbs and eat the figs. The fruit is wonderful and tasty as a jam. Very good on toast for breakfast!

  7. elaine says:

    It will be interesting to see how it changes through the year – our local chip shop has an absolutely massive one out the back.

  8. kashcah says:

    Figs! I can’t believe I didn’t think about being figs being possible in this climate. I had a hardy fig in Michigan but it never quite managed to produce any fruit. I’m going to be on a mission now, to find myself a fig sapling!

  9. Lucy Corrander says:

    It’s an elegant little tree. I hadn’t realised fig trees featured on allotments. (Nor that chickens might like to eat them . . . sitting in branches ‘n all!)

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I second Chloris’s recommendation to try figs this year 😉 That’s a nice specimen on Trevor’s lot. My aunt has a Brown Turkey that is prolific beyond anything. I love its gigantic leaves. Looking forward to tracking Trevor’s fig in the months to come.

  11. snowbird says:

    I’m glad you have chosen a fig, I bought one just over a year ago, I didn’t get figs but I did enjoy the huge leaves. I shall enjoy finding out more!xxx

  12. Glo says:

    Now when someone asks what you’ve been up to, you can say, “I have been following a fig tree!” Not too sure what their response will be, but I’m sure you’ll have their undivided attention 😉 Looking forward to seeing the tree leaf out… and will you be counting the figs, or are there usually too many to keep track of? Oh, and at Christmas you can make some figgy pudding… I know you don’t bake, but perhaps a steamed pudding. I better stop before you ‘fig’ure out I’m getting carried away! PS I liked your reference in a reply, Fig and Chips…

  13. Joanne says:

    I have a fig tree in a pot, it will be interesting to compare it to your shots over the year. x

  14. Hollis says:

    I love fresh figs!!!! I miss them, no longer living in California. Hope you get a crop this year.

Leave a Reply

