I’m always delighted…

Most days I look at the Admin and Stats pages here just to make sure that there’s nothing amiss. When I looked on Sunday, 11th January I was surprised to see that the previous days page views numbered over 200 which is at least four times higher than I would have expected.  Looking at the posts viewed I saw that most of them were from I started the blog at the end of May 2007 through into 2008.

All was revealed later that day when I received an email via the Contact me page  –

I came upon your blog by chance when reading another one, so one gardener led me to another…I started reading your Flighty’s plot blog yesterday morning starting at the beginning and need to ask you a couple of questions…I was born and raised in the UK and now reside in Kentucky, USA so I’m familiar with, and can relate to, a lot about which you write…And you write well…I am enjoying your posts and will sit down to read more later, with a cuppa!…Thanks, Liz.

I replied and since then we’ve emailed back and forth fairly regularly.  Liz has now read through into 2013 and so far made nearly 150 comments (!) on posts, all of which I’ve replied to.

She sent me one email saying that she’d been distracted by Lucy’s Tree Following which she thought was a great idea and wanted to join in the fun this year with one of her own trees but she doesn’t blog.  No problem I replied you can do guest posts here, the first of which should be published on Tuesday.

I’m always delighted when non-bloggers read and comment here, and often email me as well. Liz wrote in one of hers…Thanks for your generous attributes to your fellow bloggers, your upbeat attitude to life and it’s daily blessings.

Liz's first crocuses

I’m sure that Liz won’t mind me showing these crocuses which she photographed in her garden yesterday morning. As of Friday the first of mine was still tightly furled.

 

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to I’m always delighted…

  1. Carrie says:

    Aww Flighty, it’s not just me that thinks your brilliant then 😉 xxx

  2. How lovely. So keep it up we all do really enjoy reading you blog! xx

  3. and admire your crocuses when they finally unfurl x

  4. Caro says:

    Brilliant! Connecting with other people is what makes blogging worthwhile – especially so when feedback shows that your words have inspired others. What a lovely lift in the past few gloomy winter days – and now the sun is shining. Hope you’re out plotting today, Flighty! xx

  5. Liz says:

    Well, that is extraordinarily kind of you to mention me and host my tree! It has been such fun reading about the plot since its inception: the successes and failures with different plants, the selection and exchange of seeds, the wildlife and humanlife, and the horticulture hut. 2012 was a particular challenge it seems, with the incessant rain. One problem is that Flighty constantly refers us to other blogs, (yesterday I was reading Spitalfields blog). Now I am starting 2013 and hoping for better gardening weather in the UK and, as I believe I commented yesterday, I have only two years to go to catch up with everyone else! 6:50 a.m. here — time for my first cuppa of the day. And, hope your crocus has fully opened to greet the day.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz you’re most welcome on both counts. It’s really nice to know that your enjoying reading through my blog. I’ve enjoyed looking back at the posts, and other comments, where you’ve commented. As you’ll have seen the crocus had opened. xx

  6. Shamini says:

    That’s really lovely. What a fantastic community!

  7. menhir1 says:

    Actions speak louder than words. This event is truly one to be happy about and be proud of. xx

  8. Jo says:

    How lovely. It’s always nice to receive comments on posts but even more special when someone goes out of their way to email and start, what I’m sure will become, a friendship.

  9. Mark Willis says:

    Well, that’s what makes blogging such an absorbing pastime. How nice that someone should have the patience and dedication to go through your posts so thoroughly! I hope no-one tries to do that with mine…

  10. snowbird says:

    What a wonderful compliment Flighty….y’see….you’re just the best, the bee’s knees, the cherry on the cupcake!!! It was nice to meet Liz via her comment here too….keep up the good work!xxx

  11. CJ says:

    It’s lovely to connect with new people isn’t it, and especially nice when they’re so far away. I shall look forward to her post on Tuesday. CJ xx

  12. elaine says:

    Blogging is certainly a great way to connect with other people

  13. pianolearner says:

    It’s lovely to make these connections. 🙂

  14. Chloris says:

    How lovely. I suppose that is why we all go to so much trouble to keep up our blogs. It is wonderful to make connections and have such a community of like -minded friends around the world.

  15. Glo says:

    Lovely to make a new friend indeed! Bet Liz has fun reading all about your Plot 124 adventures over the years…

  16. That’s a great story – making connections is what blogging is all about

  17. Joanne says:

    That’s lovely Mike. Do you know I quite often have a nosey back through new blogs I find.x

  18. nikkipolani says:

    Welcome welcome to Liz! How fun to have a guest blog from a nonblogger 😉 Liz sounds like a lot of fun who has had gardening experience on both sides of the pond.

Leave a Reply

