Into February

Unlike yesterday which was damp and dull this morning was dry and sunny, although still with a bitterly cold wind, so I took a quick look round the plot.

White crocusNestling next to one of the white heathers I noticed this lone white crocus which will be flowering before long.  I hope this is a sign that spring isn’t too far away.

Sturon and Red Baron onionsI then went across the road to the horticultural society trading shed to buy some onion sets.  I generally do well onions and still have about 30 in store from last year which will last me several months or more. I regularly check these to make sure none have gone soft or started sprouting.  I bought the white variety Sturon, which I always grow, along with some Red Baron which I grew for the first time last year. Weather permitting I will be planting them out sometime after mid-March.

The forecast for the coming week is cold, dry and windy so it looks like wintry weather is seeing us into February.

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Into February

  1. Mark Willis says:

    One of the reasons why I don’t grow onions is that I would never be able to grow enough for our needs. 30 onions would last us about a fortnight! We use them a lot in our cooking. Still, I suppose a home-grown onion must be as nice of its kind as a home-grown carrot or bean?

  2. elaine says:

    I use a lot of onions – at least one a day – so I would have to grow far more than I have room for to keep me going. I am thinking of not growing them at all this year as to be honest they don’t taste any different to shop bought ones – then I would have room to grow something that costs a lot more in the shops.

  3. Liz says:

    Happy February 1! Tomorrow, we get to see if the groundhog will see his shadow and bring us six more weeks of miserable winter. At least that little white crocus bud promises fair days in the not too distant future.
    I don’t grow onions, but made onion marmalade yesterday. Five enormous onions sliced and cooked with butter, brown sugar, salt, white wine, and balsamic vinegar, reduce to a jammy consistency which fills about 2/3 of a quart Mason jar!

  4. Chloris says:

    The little species crocus are showing their brave little heads and it is lovely to see them.. It is bitterly cold. We went for a walk yesterday and ended up walking in a in a snow blizzard. Still as you say, at least it’ s February. The days are getting longer.

  5. snowbird says:

    What a darling little crocus…I haven’t any yet but the first of the snowdrops are showing their little heads. I would love to grow onions, but each year they seem to be smaller, I don’t think they like my sandy soil…even though I try to enrich it. xxx

  6. Jo says:

    I haven’t seen any crocuses in flower yet, in fact, my snowdrops are only just starting to show now. We don’t use many onions but I still like to grow them myself. I’ve still got some in store too, though I’ve noticed that a couple have started to sprout so I’d better get them used up.

  7. In the next village to ours there are daffs in flower. Have a great week, Flighty!

  8. CJ says:

    How lovely to see a crocus, I always think of them as the second flower after the snowdrop. Well done on still having onions. I have a few, but they haven’t stored particularly well this year, I think I possibly didn’t dry them well enough.

  9. I have hellebores and sweetbox which I expect this time of year, but I too have crocus, naked ladies, Texas bluebells, and the early peonies all coming up through the ground; it’s going to be such an unusual year.

  10. Glo says:

    Happy February, Flighty! Your crocus was a great find on your meanderings. I have seen a few signs letting it be known that spring is in the works! Great that you have success with onions and have now some new sets for March! What is your favorite way to eat them?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, and to you too. It’s one that missed last year when I dug some up and moved them. It sure is. I like them fried, to go with sausages and mash, and also onion soup. xx

  11. Doris Potter says:

    Sorry to hear about your wintry forecast but that crocus sure is a good sign of things to come! 🙂

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Hurray for that crocus! I do hope spring is coming soon. The photo of the onions — is that all you need to purchase each year for your plot?

  13. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty, I can’t believe it’s February already. I have a lone crocus too. 😉 It’s very cold here today. I’m hoping it’s going to start warming up soon as it’s hard to tempt me on to the plot in these temperatures. 😉 I’ve grown shallots before but never onions. I’m not sure whether I’ll be doing any this year. Just trying to decide if I should do some spuds. 🙂 Stay warm and I hope you have a lovely week. xx

  14. Joanne says:

    I really don’t have the space to grow anyway near enough for our needs but always like to have some growing. They make me feel like a proper veg gardener, same with cabbages really! I bought a small bag of mixed sets at the weekend so at least I will have a small selection. I have no lone crocus but there seems to be a lot of sturdy looking marigold seedlings on the plot. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne I think if that’s the case then grow what you really like, and/or what is expensive to buy. Of course you’re a proper gardener. Not surprisingly I’ve got marigold seedlings on the plot. xx

  15. Carrie says:

    Oh how I love a white crocus! Spring is on her way, though it is blasted cold right now. xx

  16. menhir1 says:

    Good looking onions on the plate, almost good enough to eat!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

