Birdwatching, pineapples and pruning

I wasn’t surprised that I saw few birds when I did the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch last weekend.  It was cold and I guess that they were all tucked away trying to stay warm rather than being out and about.  In one of her comments Glo provided this interesting YouTube video Where Do Birds Go in Winter?, which also has a bit of history and myth thrown in.

Anna/The Transmutational Garden, mentioned that there is another similar global event, The Great Backyard Bird Count, being held February 13 – 16th.

On the subject of pineapples I came across this interesting blog post all about them!

It’s been a very cold week so I’ve only ventured to the plot a couple of times just for a quick look round. The forecast is for more of the same into early next week so any plans I had for pruning the blackberry, blackthorn, dog rose,  grape vine and hawthorn will have to wait for better weather.

Caro’s post yesterday was “Pruners learn by pruning” and Carrie’s Shrub rose pruning,  both of which are helpful and informative.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Birdwatching, pineapples and pruning

  1. Jo says:

    I didn’t count many birds either, I’d left it rather late on Sunday afternoon before I started my count and though there’d been plenty of birds on the feeders in the morning, I think they’d had their fill by then. We’ve just had a snow storm, it took me ages to scrape all the snow off the car before I could go and pick Eleanor up from school and by the time I’d finished, it was covered again. You wouldn’t believe it’s sunny now, typical!

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think that maybe the morning is the best time to do it when they’re on the feeders.
      There’s been no snow here so far, and today is miserably cold and wet. xx

  2. CJ says:

    No plotting round here either, although the biggest boy did manage to do the big birdwatch. I loved Caro’s post on pruning, so helpful. Now I just need to find the time to go out and put it all into practice. CJ xx

  3. snowbird says:

    My birds all went awol too, I think the hail and wind put them off. Some really interesting links here, I loved Caro’s post too.xxx

  4. Mark Willis says:

    We seem to have escaped the worst of the weather so far, but the cold temperatures have certainly not been conducive to outdoor activities. I did my pruning last weekend, but it was a very small job because I only have two fruit trees!

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Pruning seems to be at the forefront of many of my friends this week — and you too! Somehow I didn’t realize you had more than the rose to prune on your plot. Hope you have the fine days you’ll need to get the job done!

Leave a Reply

