Big Garden Birdwatch

It’s been a cold week with temperatures hovering around zero for much of the time so I’ve only made two brief visits to the plot for a quick look round.

I often mention the birds that I see when I’m there and on Tuesday morning I saw a handful of starlings working their way along the grass verge at the top of the plot.

I have in the past also mentioned birds that I see out front at home. This time last year the block of flats where I live was surrounded by scaffolding whilst the roof was re-tiled over the following four months or so,  and  it wasn’t surprising that the birds keep away. Thankfully they’ve reappeared since, and during the past couple of weeks I’ve seen blackbirds, blue tits, crows, magpies, pigeons and robins.

Big Garden Birdwatch 2015

This coming weekend, 24 – 25  January, it’s the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch which I always enjoy doing even though I rarely see many birds, let alone any interesting ones. Depending on the weather I may do it at home or on the plot.

Happy bird watching, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Big Garden Birdwatch

  1. Joanne says:

    I’ve signed up. It’s something we enjoy doing every year. Even though we are always hopeful of seeing a new visitor during that hour it’s satisfying knowing that our little report back helps build up the bigger picture. Glad the birds are coming back for you closer to home xx

  2. CJ says:

    I saw a green woodpecker at the plot a while ago, flying away, but it made my day. No doubt we’ll be doing the big garden birdwatch this weekend as well. CJ xx

  3. Chloris says:

    Thanks for the reminder about this. It is great fun, the only trouble is the birds must know they are being observed. The interesting ones all seem to make themselves scarce.

  4. snowbird says:

    I love to do this, but as Chloris said, the birds seem to know something is afoot and all disappear. Let’s hope we all have a good turn out this year.xxx

  5. elaine says:

    Whenever the Bird Watch comes around the birds all seem to disappear – hoping for better results this year.

  6. Glo says:

    Here’s an interesting youtube video about where birds go in the winter…with a bit of history and myth thrown in 🙂 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ds2XFvSQzBg
    Good to hear that the birds have returned to the (scaf)fold … well now that the scaffold has gone…
    Sounds pretty chilly around there ~ we are experience temps between 8 – 10C which is quite pleasant, although rain is forecast (beats the snow!)

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Now I’ve got a closer look at a starling from Snowbird’s post, I can imagine the ones you saw at the plot. Hope the birds don’t do as Elaine suspects!

  8. Caro says:

    Thanks for the reminder, Flighty. I’ll be looking out of my second floor window at the gardens below – usually good for seeing blue tits, starlings, wood pigeons and a robin or two if I’m lucky. I saw a couple of Jays a few weeks ago just sitting in a tree on the street. That was a special sight but I doubt I’ll get lucky twice!

  9. Jo says:

    It would be nice to see something different in the garden for the Birdwatch but even my regulars seem to stay away when I’m counting them, I think they know they’re being watched.

  10. I’m signed up too. Looking forward to seeing what will visit my garden in that hour. Knowing my luck nothing. The time before & after will be when all the birds come 🙂

  11. Have you ever participated in the Great Backyard Bird Count? It’s sponsored by Audubon, Cornell Lab and some others. The next count will be February 13-16. I’ll be taking part in it this year. http://gbbc.birdcount.org/ I hope you enjoy your birdwatching!

    • Flighty says:

      Anna no, this is the first I’ve heard of it. I’ll do it this year, and give it a mention in a post as well as I’m sure that others over here will be interested. Thanks. xx

  12. Why is it that birdwatch day almost guarantees that the birds stay away?! Have a great weekend Flighty.

Leave a Reply

