Two Awards

Liebster AwardDina over on her Gardens & Wildlife blog very kindly gave me a Liebster award last week. As usual with any such awards given to me I’ll happily answer the questions but won’t be nominating anyone else.

Here are her questions and my replies.

1. What is the worst injury you have sustained whilst plotting?  Thankfully I’ve been lucky so far having only received a few minor blisters, bruises and cuts.

2. How would you deal with wet, slushy leaves fermenting on the lawn that refuse to be raked up?  I would probably go round picking them up, and bag them up for leaf mould. I don’t really like lawns and this is another reason why not.

3. Have you ever had an invasion of bamboo trying to colonise your plot? It’s not something that’s generally grown on allotments so thankfully no.

4. Do you have any irrational fears/terrors re an animal or insect? There are plenty that I’m not keen on but it’s snakes that really give me the heebie-jeebies, but I’ve no idea why.

5. Have you ever danced barefoot in the rain or hugged a tree?  Don’t tell anyone but I’ve certainly hugged a tree or two. I think that as a tree follower it’s obligatory!

6.Do you believe that the moon can influence the growth of plants?  I’m not sure, but I have read a book about it and know it’s something some gardeners believe in and practice.

7. Do you have a favourite flower legend/story/superstition?  None come to mind.

8. Have you ever used a plant medicinally?  Only dock leaves on nettle stings.

9. Which is the more important to you? Both, but the plot is probably more important for the soul.

10. Do you constantly talk/complain about the weather to anyone who will listen? I’m British and a gardener so what do you think!

11. What is the most you have spent on a plant over the past year? I don’t think that I’ve bought any, but a few of the seeds I bought were over £3 a packet.

Elaine over on Rosebank Ramblings also answered these questions, as did Nikki who did so in her comment on Dina’s post as linked above.

It’s always interesting to read the answers to such questions as we find usually find out a bit more about our blog friends.

I never cease to be surprised and delighted that Glo (Porcelain Rose) does an award for each Plot A to Z post that I’ve done, all of which are shown on this page. In last Thursday’s post I mentioned that I’d like to grow pineapples and she has done this wonderful Flighty’s Pineapple Pipe Dream Award picture and poem!

Flighty's Pineapple Pipe Dream AwardGlo has also done this PPD Award post on her own blog all about it.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Two Awards

  1. CJ says:

    I loved reading all of your replies, as well as Glo’s excellent poem. Brilliant! CJ xx

  2. Liz says:

    Congratulations on your Awards! It was through the Liebster Award that I found so many other gardening blogs. They are so interesting and different. Only wish I had more time to read them in depth. Dock and stinging nettles I remember from my youth in England. Wish they had something similar for poison ivy in the States!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks. As you say there are lots of interesting gardening blogs, and like you would like to have time to read more of them. I think that we all remember them from our youth.
      I don’t like the sound of poison ivy. xx

  3. Doris Potter says:

    Congratulations on your awards and thanks for such a delightful post. I loved the poem! By the way, I too have hugged a tree. 🙂

  4. snowbird says:

    I loved your answers Flighty, especially re the tree hugging!!! And of COURSE it’s mandatory!
    Glo’s poem is a total work of art, I absolutely LOVED it!xxx

  5. Glo says:

    Thanks for showcasing your PPD Award, Flighty, and for the link to my blog! I’m glad the poem and pic garnered a smile. Interesting answer to the questions ~ and I also remember ‘dock-toring’ my nettle stings when I lived in England. I think I better give my red oak tree a hug before the Pileated Woodpecker chisels right through its middle 😉

  6. Awesome post Flighty well done on your award have a blessed week

  7. VP says:

    Fantastic answers Flighty, though it’s interesting as I have had 2 posts for this award pop into my reader today and they have completely different questions!

  8. Jo says:

    Congratulations on the awards, very well deserved. It’s interesting about the moon influencing the growth of plants. I’d like to give planting by the moon a go but I fear it would be too restricting, I have to get things done when I’ve got time, not when the calendar dictates. I love Glo’s poem and envy anyone who can put a rhyme together, I’m useless at it.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Fun fun! Glad to know you haven’t been injured on the plot. And I smiled at the idea that no one would be crazy enough to introduce bamboo at an allotment! #5 had me smiling, too. Congrats on your awards, Flighty.

  10. Joanne says:

    I really enjoyed reading your replies. How wonderful Glo is with all of those awards. x

  11. elaine says:

    Great answers Flighty – I completely forgot about dock leaves when I answered mine. Love Glo’s poem too.

  12. Chloris says:

    Congratulations on the awards. I enjoyed reading your answers and the poem. And haven’ t we all hugged trees or at least stroked them?

  13. Fun to read your answers, and I love your pineapple poem!

Leave a Reply

