Planning and pondering!

It’s sunny, but chilly,  today so I went for a wander round the plot this morning just to see if all was okay after a blowy couple of days.  It was, but it was too soggy to do any plotting.

As I’ve mentioned previously I want to grow less but better this year so I’ve decided which annual flowers and vegetables I’ll be planting or sowing in the spring.  I’ve now got all the seeds, and will be buying onion sets and seed potatoes from the horticultural society trading shed later in the month.

I know what I’m growing and where, thanks to much planning and pondering!  It may all sound organised but the reality is rather different.

Here on the blog I’m determined to finish the occasional Plot A to Z series of posts that I started back in November 2010, with the last one being O and P (part 1 of 2) in February last year.  I’ll continue to post as usual on Thursday and Sunday, and I also hope to do a few more, mostly off plot ones.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Planning and pondering!

  1. I’ve a fancy for growing white cosmos this year. January is a dangerous month to go near seed catalogues though…

  2. snowbird says:

    Golly….you are organised!!! I’m still at the pondering stage!xxx

  3. menhir1 says:

    No pondering going on here, at least not about planting and growing. It will be interesting to see how things look when the ground dries out somewhat and the fearsome wind speeds reduce to something tolerable. It is too early in the year to do much else.

    Hope you are able to start your projects ere long. Xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’m not surprised as I see that there’s been some wild weather there, with more to come next week.
      I doubt if I’ll be doing much, if anything, until well into February at the earliest. xx

  4. Jo says:

    Glad you’re still managing to get to the plot, even if it is just for a wander round. It’s a long time since I’ve been down and there’s been no chance this weekend with the gale force winds. I’ve just about got everything planned for the plot this year though.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo me too as I don’t like being stuck indoors more than a couple of days. I’m not surprised, and I would guess that most people are the same. Well done. xx

  5. Susie Dixon says:

    Thanks Flighty. I haven’t started to plan yet. You have spurred me on!

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Sounds like good plans, Flighty. Somehow, I got on a mailing list for seeds and have now been inundated with catalogs. Obviously, none of them know my dismal record. Maybe I should submit your name! (kidding)

  7. I’m looking to grow a new lawn… Bit by bit. First of all I’ve got to dig out the weeds 😦 Good luck with your plotting, Flighty.

  8. CJ says:

    It’s been too wet for plotting for ages hasn’t it, and I see there is lots of rain forecast next week, even with weather warnings here. So no chance to go any time soon. Glad to hear you have all your seeds ready. Mine should be delivered soon too I think. Wishing you a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  9. Sara says:

    Hi Flighty, thanks for your comment on my blog. We keep hearing from other plot owners that it took a long while to get their patches in order and each time it makes us hopeful! Good luck for this year, Sara xx

  10. I’m still doing a bit too much pondering and not enough planning 😉
    Cathy

  11. Joanne says:

    You are organised. I’m after a few seed potatoes & similar amount of seed packets. It’s lovely to be able to plan the plot though isn’t it. Have a good week.x

  12. Glo says:

    Since planning and pondering are two of your favourite pastimes (other than plotting), I think you are well on your way to starting out the new growing season. Your plot has been prepared for winter, and now you can enjoy the anticipation of what is yet to come. It is hard to believe that the A-Z posts were started in 2010. Good heavens! That’s a bit mind boggling. You are over half way through, anyway, although some of the remaining letters may be more challenging than others 😉 Good luck with the remaining letters ~

  13. You are ahead of me Flighty, I have yet to sit down and sort through the seed packets and finalise my own plans. I do know they will not involve Jerusalem Artichokes, but will definitely involve more sweetcorn and mange-tout! Good luck for the coming growing season, I look forward to watching your plot flourish again, I always love how colourful it is.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’m sure that you’ll get sorted out in good time. More sweetcorn sounds good to me. Thanks, let’s hope that we all have a good, and colourful, season. xx

  14. Caro says:

    I can’t bear to spend too much time indoors either, Flighty, and (wrapped up warmly) had a wonderful five hours outside last Sunday, clearing, tidying and mulching. Moving, replanting and continued pruning is next on the list. I have a few ideas of what I want to grow – made much worse by watching the Great British Garden Revival! – so my big task is to plan what I can fit into the space available and go through my seed box before I even look at the seed catalogues! Bitter cold forecast this weekend for N London so hope you stay warm and cosy! Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro nor me, I do like to get out most days even for just a short while. Well done on making the most of it last Sunday. It sounds like you’ve plenty to ponder about whilst planning for this year.
      So I see so I’ll be spending most of it sofa flying, where it’s warm and cosy. xx

Leave a Reply

