Mixed blessings

A week ago yesterday I found that my phone land-line had gone dead so I reported it to BT who said that it may take until Monday to fix.  I gave the internet up a day or so later as it had become so slow I could make a cup of tea and drink it whilst waiting for a webpage to load.  On Monday BT then said that it may be today before it could be repaired.  It was finally done yesterday since when I’ve been catching up with everything.

Sunday was a lovely warm, sunny day so after I’d renewed my horticultural society membership, for the princely sum of £1-50, at the trading shed I went over to the plot. Walking past the bays just inside the site where local tree surgeons leave wood chips I saw that someone had been digging some out which on closer inspection looked well composted.

That decided me to cut back the Michaelmas daisies to knee height then add plenty of that compost, roughly sieved, around them as a mulch.  On Monday and yesterday mornings I also mulched all round the strawberries, raspberries and blackberry bush.  That sieved compost is good stuff so given a couple more sunny days I may well spread more over some other areas to dig in.

The Cut Flower PatchI know that some of you reviewed Wellywoman‘s excellent book The Cut Flower Patch earlier in the year, and others either won a giveaway copy or bought it.  What you may not know is that last week she won the Garden Media Guild’s Best Practical Book of the Year award. Congratulations Louise it was well deserved.  Not surprisingly her husband, fellow blogger Pianolearner, was well chuffed as you can see in this post.  I’m sure that you’ll also be pleased to know that she’s been busy working on a new book which will be published next year, which is something to look forward to.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mixed blessings

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Well, definitely a “game of two halves” for you then! BT’s performance is dismal in cases like this. Don’t they realize that internet access is a necessity these days, not a luxury?!

  2. wellywoman says:

    It’s so annoying to have no internet and BT’s customer service does leave a lot to be desired. Glad everything is up and running now. Sunday was fantastic weather, unfortunately we spent the day in the car travelling back from the north, so didn’t get much opportunity to enjoy it.
    You put me to shame with your winter work on the plot. I’m hoping for a dry day this weekend so I can get some tidying up and mulching done.
    Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a big surprise to win the award and I’m so delighted.
    Hope it stays dry this weekend so you can get to the plot. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it sure is, on both counts. Thanks, me too. It’s shame that you didn’t get to enjoy Sunday.
      I’m surprised that I’m still plotting. I hope that you get to do work on yours at the weekend.
      You’re most welcome. A nice surprise, and I’m sure you are.
      It looks it’ll be dry tomorrow but not Sunday. xx

  3. Jo says:

    I feel totally lost if I’m left without internet connection. We all rely on it so much these days that you’d think they’d work a little harder at getting things up and running again when there’s a problem. I wish we had wood chips delivered to our site, it sounds as though you’ve made the most of yours, your plants will be very happy that they’ve been given a mulch. The award which Wellywoman has won is very well deserved, I love her book and I’m looking forward to reading the next one.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo me too nowadays. I agree with what you say. Delivery of wood chips is erratic, and we’ve almost none at present.
      It’ll be interesting to see what the topic of Welly’s next book is. xx

  4. CJ says:

    BT. Big sigh. SO frustrating. I do hope it’s all sorted properly. Lucky you having access to some nice compost. I wheelbarrowed some manure down to my plot today, it was pretty hard going. Your horticultural society membership is quite a bargain, mine’s a whole £2. And if you don’t pay on time it goes up to £4! Well done indeed to Wellywoman Louise, as you say, it is very well deserved, her book is lovely, informative and beautifully photographed. Is it too early to wish you a good weekend? CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it seems that we all feel the same about BT. There’s no one around at this time of year so I hope to get some more compost. I’m sure that your hard work wheelbarrowing manure to your plot will have been well worth the effort. Our membership is £3 but as I’m now a pensioner I pay the concessionary rate. It’s nice to see comments like yours about Welly, which I’m sure she’ll appreciate.
      Not all too early, so thanks and you too. xx

  5. Joanne says:

    I’m not surprised Wellywoman won an award, it really is a fantastic book. I’m glad to hear there is another one in the wings! BT are an absolute pain, it was touch and go before we decided to continue with them & only my sheer laziness has encouraged us to stay! Have a good week xx

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne I’ve seen nothing but praise for her book. They sure are, and I sometimes wonder if I should change. Thanks, I hope that you had a good week. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    So you finally sent some of that rain our way! Thanks for sharing and it looks like you enjoyed the sunshine I traded you for 😉 No internet or even land line? I was beginning to worry. Glad you popped in for an update.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s good to see that you had some rain. I much prefer sunny days, even if they’re cold ones. The land line provides the internet so if there are problems with it both usually suffer. I would have gone to the library and used one there but what with one thing and another… Thanks. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    How frustrating to be offline for a week….glad to hear you are now sorted. I have been having internet and computer problems too….sighs….Congratulations to Welly woman, it really is a lovely book so she deserves the award. How lovely for her.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it sure was, and so am I. My sympathies, it’s a right pain when we have such problems.
      I’m sure Welly’ will be delighted with your comment, and all the other nice ones. xx

  8. Caro says:

    I lose internet every time it rains heavily here! I think the cables don’t like the damp. Interesting to read everyone’s thoughts on BT; I need to review my internet services as we’ve been told the prices are going up in February by quite a jump. (More money for them, less service for us!) Lucky you with your wood chip compost! I had some wood chips earlier this year, makes a fantastic weed suppressant and does the soil good as it decomposes. Despite the cold, I really must make time to spread some mulch around the veg patch here. Hope you enjoyed the good weather last weekend – it seems every sunny day is to be valued at this time!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I sympathise, and it’s really not good enough seeing as how dependent we now are on it. I agree about more money for them, less service for us.
      I generally don’t use much of the wood chips except to put round my raspberries.
      I’ve certainly made the most of recent sunny days. xx

Leave a Reply

