It was a typically…

damp and dull mid November morning earlier when I went for a poddle* round the allotments, and then across to the horticultural society trading shed for a quick word with someone.  (* a word used by Alison, @papaver on Twitter, this morning which I’ve not come across before but made me smile, and is something I certainly do).

Lineria maroccana 'Fairey Bouquet'I’m still finding it rather disconcerting to see summer flowers like love-in-a-mist, poached egg plant, pot marigolds and roses when everything else is changing colour and dying back.

I spotted these linaria maroccana Fairey Bouquet which self-seed every year from some I originally grew several years ago.

Fran's cosmosA flower that certainly did well this year, more so for others than myself, was cosmos, especially over the past couple of months.  These were some of plot neighbour Fran’s photographed a few weeks ago. As you can see they’d grown to well over twice their normal height of around three feet.

Knowing how much I like these Shamini, a Twitter friend, did a blog post, Farewell cosmos,  last week which was especially for me! Do have a look as the flower pictures are really lovely.

Needless to say they’re on my list to grow next year,  mostly the white variety Purity which is a definite favourite.

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It was a typically…

  1. Shamini says:

    What a lovely post. How wonderful to still have nigella in November! Thank you for the mention – I’m glad you have neighbouring cosmos to admire, but I hope you have fun growing them another year 🙂

  2. Susie Dixon says:

    Just wanted to thankyou for all your inspiring posts. As a bit of a novice gardener, you have helped me a lot, Flighty.
    Kind regards,
    Susie

  3. Jo says:

    I agree with you about Purity, it’s such a lovely variety of cosmos. It’s a strange year with summer flowers still blooming amongst the early flowers of things like cowslip, the seasons seem to be totally mixed up.

  4. CJ says:

    We have the dregs of summer flowers here too, cosmos, cornflowers and some sort of scabious I think. And lots of seedlings from your Flighty’s Favourites are hopefully pushing through. Haven’t visited the plot for so long because of the rain, even when it’s not raining it’s still too wet to work. Hope you have a good week. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I wonder how much longer they’ll all last. I’ve lots of pot marigold seedlings as well. I’m not surprised as it has been far too wet making the ground much too soggy. Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    How long does a ‘poddle’ around the allotment take? It’s definitely another season, though as yet, hard to tell which one!

  6. elaine says:

    I have quite a few hangers on too although I did pull out all the cosmos as I need to plant wall flowers in their place – cosmos are such good value for money I always grow them every year. Enjoy your week.

  7. Cosmos are such a hard working addition to any plot – easy to grow and so cheerful. Have a good week.

  8. Joanne says:

    A ‘poddle’ I love that word. It has indeed been distinctly miserable of late, it is just so grey & wet & to be honest I just want a good frost now! I had Cosmos in abundant quantities this year, I’m hoping for the same next year too. xx

  9. Chloris says:

    The Cosmos has done particularly well this year and gone on and on growing to amazing proportions. Purity is my favourite.

  10. Julie says:

    Our cosmos went mad too.. 4-5 ft and some taller.. still have some out and will leave it as long as possible for the bees. Have lots of seedlings coming up of cosmos, love-in-a-mist, cornflowers and poach egg plants.. like Spring, apart from the weather! xx

  11. snowbird says:

    It is a strange year, I have all sorts of summer flowers clinging on too. Cosmos is such good value isn’t it, I grew purity this year and it grew to six foot and was flowering until it blew down in the wind a few days ago.xxx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    The lone clump of colorful linaria must’ve been welcome this late in the year. And just in time before you finish poddling for the year.

Leave a Reply

