I’m pleased to say…

Hydrangeathat the hydrangea that I acquired in the summer, and posted about, seems to be okay and there’s even signs of new growth at ground level. Β I’m looking forward to seeing how it does next year.
What's this

I came across this plant which I can’t identify, and got no responses on Facebook or Twitter earlier in the week. Does anyone know what it is please?

Although there’s been some dry, and even sunny, days there has also been plenty of rainy ones so the ground and paths are now well soggy so I’m thankful that I’ve now just about finished plotting for this year.

This is what the plot now looks like, all rather bare!

Flighty's plot, November 2014

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to I’m pleased to say…

  1. could be a tree seedling that has grown but not sure Mike

  2. Jo says:

    No idea about your mystery plant I’m afraid. I’ve got a hydrangea in a container but it doesn’t seem to like being confined, I’m going to have to find a place for it in the ground and hope it does better. Your plot is looking very spick and span ready for winter, I wish I could say the same about mine.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m sure someone will know. I had one in a container some years ago but like yours didn’t fare well. Thanks, I’ve been lucky with the amount of time I’ve spent plotting recently despite the weather. xx

  3. CJ says:

    The hydrangea is looking good, we always used to cut ours right back and it never seemed to mind. No idea what the mystery plant is. I’m very envious of your beautifully neat plot. I shudder to think what mine looks like, but it’s been so wet lately I don’t like to trample on the earth. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks, they were one of my mum’s favourites and she always cut them back in the spring when new growth appeared. Don’t be too envious, and I do appreciate that you’re somewhat time constrained compared to myself. xx

  4. Mark Willis says:

    I can’t help with identifying the mystery plant either. Have you had a look round your neighbours’ plots to see if they have something similar?

  5. menhir1 says:

    Looking at the leaf, I wondered if it might be oak like? It is difficult to say, really.
    I am surprised at just how much foliar colour remains around the plots, also how tidy they all look. You’ve had a good crop this year, when the growing got going!

  6. Charlotte says:

    Oh, I do like a hydrangea. Lovely flowers. I’m not sure about your plant, but it does look a bit tree like. I’ll see if I can find your original Facebook photo of that and tag my sisters into it, one of them is bound to know…

  7. Charlotte says:

    Also, even though it’s bare, your plot still looks gorgeous!

  8. elaine says:

    I can’t grow hydrangeas for some reason hope yours has plenty of flowers next year. The plot is looking beautifully weed-free you have been working hard.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    How tidy the plot looks, all ready for its winter nap. As for your mystery plant, I’m leaning towards Menhir1’s oak guess.

  10. Chloris says:

    Your plot looks so clean and tidy. How satisfying for you. Your Hydrangea looks very healthy. In the Spring you could take a cutting, they are incredibly easy from cuttings.

  11. No idea what your mystery plant is, but my first thought was a tree seedling. I adore hydrangeas, I grew one in a pot once and it really sulked. I don’t cut mine back until I see new spring growth, but they are pretty forgiving……apart from being kept in a pot! Your plot looks great and ready for it’s winter slumber, have a good weekend xx

  12. snowbird says:

    I love hydrangeas too, such good value they are with little pampering required. All looks nicely set up for winter….I wish I was on top of things. It’s hard to get anywhere until all the leaves are down.
    I don’t know what your mystery plant is, we have oak seedlings so it’s not one of them. Maybe some other tree…I’d be checking the leaves of local trees….good luck identifying it.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird they’re still very popular plants. Thanks, leaves are something I don’t have to deal with on the plot.
      I’m sure that someone will identify it. xx

  13. Joanne says:

    My plot is looking a little bare too, rather exciting though really all that planning for next year. I’d love to have a Hydrangea in the garden, I wonder where I could fit one. Hope you find out what your mystery plant is.

  14. Hi Flighty, I’ve cleaned my butternut and found quite a few small nuts which with a bit more sunshine would have give me a good crop. I’ve left my toms growing a while longer in my greenhouse as there are still a few green toms on the plants. Not sure about your unnamed plant. Has it come from wild bird seed. I quite often find odd things growing in my garden from where I’ve fed the birds. It isn’t an oak tree that I’m sure. Good luck in finding out. It might be Jack’s beanstalk… Be careful when climbing it, Flighty πŸ™‚

  15. Would you repost the picture when it develops a flower, that would certainly help.

  16. Glad your hydrangea looks ok, do you know what colour the flowers will be? Your plot looks wonderfully tidy. My little patch is still rather scruffy in comparison.

  17. wellywoman says:

    Glad to see the hydrangea is thriving. As for your mystery plant I haven’t a clue. I’m thinking shrub though rather than tree because it seems to be sending up other stems close by, so something that is a suckering plant. Other than that I’m stumped. Sorry! Perhaps tweet a picture out tonight on British flower hour. Someone might know on there. πŸ˜‰

    • Flighty says:

      Welly me too. You could well be right about the mystery plant as it does have several stems. I’ve had no internet for a week so wasn’t around for #britishflowers hour. As it’s now in a pot I think that I’ll wait until it grows new leaves next spring before asking again. xx

Leave a Reply

