Happy birthday Glo

This year I’ve been spoilt for choice as what flower to give Glo (Porcelain Rose) for her birthday, so here’s a selection all taken during the last week or so.

The rose Pretty Lady has been flowering since late May and this picture was taken just a couple of days ago.

Glo's birthday rose

Some nasturtiums are still positively glowing.

Glowing nasturtiums

I have to include a Flighty’s favourite pot marigold.

Late October pot marigold

And the Michaelmas daisies Twinkling Stars are simply wonderful.

Aster 'Twinkling Stars

Happy birthday Glo, I hope that you have a lovely day! Β Flighty xx

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Happy birthday Glo

  1. CJ says:

    Love the Michaelmas daisies, I haven’t seen ones like that before. CJ xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    HAPPY BRITHDAY, GLO!!! I tried to email her, but got a bounce-back. Nice to have so many pretties to choose from for her birthday blooms. Yes, those twinkling Michaelmas daisies are show stealers for sure.

  3. Glo says:

    Thanks for the gorgeous flowers for my birthday, Flighty ~ I think I’ll put them all in one big bouquet of fragrant loveliness! I had quite a few surprises today ~ the sun shone all day, which was perfect; my son who has spent the last two weeks with a boyhood friend of his on Haida Gwaii, dropped in on their way home…what a lot of adventures they had in many areas of near wilderness! My son brought me home a collection of pure white rocks, and two heart shaped rocks, one of which was red. He had found them while on the beach at north coast ~ a very special birthday gift. Here’s an URL to find out info about this fascinating area: http://www.gohaidagwaii.ca/our-islands
    Also an uncle phoned who now is the ripe old age of 90! Although I had nothing planned, my day was full!!! Thanks for being part of my special day πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re most welcome, and that sounds like a nice idea. It’s good to see that you had a lovely day with some surprises.
      I know how much you like such rocks so they must have been a wonderful present. Thanks for the link, which I’ve had a quick look at and bookmarked for a good browse later.
      It seems that one way and another you had a really wonderful birthday. xx

  4. Chloris says:

    The Michaelmas daisies are wonderful for picking and they go on and on blooming.

  5. Jo says:

    Happy birthday, Glo. What a wonderful bouquet of flowers, your rose has done really well this year, it seems to have been a good year for roses.

  6. the colour of that pretty lady rose is gorgeous as are the photos

  7. snowbird says:

    What delightful choices….they all look wonderful especially twinkling stars. Happy birthday to Glo.xxx

  8. I too am a fan of the Twinkling Stars … lovely looking plant.

Leave a Reply

